Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 27, 2016

March 27, 2016 “More Than A Little Inspiration”

 “He is not here, for he is risen as he said” (Matthew 28:6)

 

Blessed Easter Morning to all Life-Believers!

August 26, 1988 was one of the saddest days of my life. That was the day my dad, James C. McDowell, died in a Hospice center some 2,000 miles from my new home in Atlantic, Iowa. It was very hard for me to say goodbye to my dad. For some weeks after his passing, I had vivid dreams about him. I remember one in particular in which his casket was in the hallway of my childhood home in Marietta, PA. The casket was open, and my dad sat up and got out, and I took his place in the casket. I would have done it gladly in the real world, just as I did in that dream state. Easter is the tremendous reminder that someone did, in fact, take our place in the grave, then took the sting out of its finality by raising from the dead. This is the very foundation on which Christianity stands…the power and the reality of the Resurrection.  As I read this passage from Matthew, it caused me to reflect on my own expectations of life with Christ. Here is the way Paul laid it down for the Corinthians:

“If Christ is not risen, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins!  Then also those who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished.  If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men the most pitiable”.

To many, that is what worship has become…a little inspiration to tide us over until death comes…a little inspiration to motivate us to be a little better and to lead a “good” life. Today, many will make what has become somewhat of an “annual pilgrimage” to church for such a purpose. Don’t get me wrong…I am glad they come, but I don’t really expect to see many of them again until Christmas, or at a funeral. But while attending, they will hear the Good News proclaimed…the resurrection is real. Heaven is real. Christ is not a fairy tale. They will hear that Christ is Risen! This day represents so much more than “a little inspiration.” This day marks the most singularly important day in all of history. Christ arose, and we who know and believe are eternally blessed as a result.

“Tomb, thou shalt not hold Him longer; Death is strong, but Life is stronger; Stronger than the dark, the light; Stronger than the wrong, the right.Faith and Hope triumphant say,’Christ did rise on Easter-Day.” LET’S PRAY!

Mighty, Risen Victorious Lord; We lift up your glorious name in unfettered exuberance this Resurrection morning!  Together with all the saints who have gone before, who live this day and with the angels of heaven we declare Christ is Risen! He is Risen indeed!” To God be the glory now and Forevermore! Amen!

 


Categories