Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 6, 2016

April 6, 2016 “God’s Greatest Evangelist”

“The heavens are telling of the glory of God;  And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands. Day to day pours forth speech, And night to night reveals knowledge”. (Psalm 19: 1-2)

Good Morning Everyone! This is the day the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

One of the great blessings I have enjoyed in my life has been the extensive traveling I have done throughout the United States. I have a personal goal of visiting all fifty of the states in my lifetime. I have two to go…Montana and Hawaii. I have seen the great cathedral mountains of Colorado. I have stood on the edge of the Grand Canyon. I have witnessed the awesome power of Niagara Falls and stood beneath the towering redwood trees of California. I saw the breaching of humpback whales and orcas in Alaska against the backdrop of glacier-covered mountains. Few things compare to the beauty of the sunsets at Key West, Florida, or the spectacular autumn-colored leaves of my Pennsylvania home.

   There are times when I am praying that I have troubling doubts of God’s existence…especially when those prayers are not immediately or expediently answered in the way I would desire. At times such as that, I pause and contemplate the evidence of His existence all around me in the created world, and I am reassured that my prayers are not made in vain.  I truly cannot comprehend how any rational person can observe the majesty of creation and not know that God exists. In fact, the apostle Paul makes this very point in Romans, declaring, as he puts it, that “they are without excuse” when it comes to an understanding of God’s existence and his power. The great preacher Jonathan Edwards correctly noted: “Nature is God’s greatest evangelist”.

Perhaps you have been hesitant in witnessing to someone…a family member or a friend. May I suggest that you invite them to go for a walk with you somewhere outside. It doesn’t have to be the Grand Canyon (as impressive as that would be), or the redwood forests of California. It could be on a rainy afternoon or a cool spring morning. In might be at twilight or even on a crisp winter’s day. Engage your companion’s focus on the wonders that are all around, and let the Holy Spirit guide your conversation as you begin to talk about God’s marvelous creation. Your words don’t need to be eloquent. In fact, let God’s creation…God’s greatest evangelist… do most of the talking.

“The heavens are telling of the glory of God;
And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.
 Day to day pours forth speech,
And night to night reveals knowledge”.  Let’s pray!

Awesome Lord God; By Your command, all that exists came into being…the majestic mountains…the expansive seas…the sparkling myriad of stars and the whirling planets. All creation declares your greatness and your divinity. Speak to my heart this day as I contemplate the wonder of your works, and lead me to share what I have come to believe with those who have not as yet experienced or understood that truth in their own lives. This I ask in Jesus’ beloved Name. Amen!

Categories

