Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 31, 2016

March 31, 2016 “An Instant Vacation and a Continual Feast”

 

“He that has a merry heart has a continual feast” (Proverbs 15:15)

Good Morning Everyone! “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!”

The quote with which I begin many of these postings in my greeting is the scripture verse I say when I awaken each morning. “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it”. It is an important reminder to me in a world full of challenges, trouble, danger, and all manner of sinfulness that God is still sovereign. He is Lord, and my source of joy. So along with that reminder, I endeavor to find humor and laughter in the everyday things that come my way…even those that may be worrisome or aggravating. Personally, I am somewhat of a “punster”. I love to play on words, (which in and of itself is rather a pun when you think about it)…”playing on words”…that kinda swings! Vocabulary can become the mind’s playground, full of slides and carousels,  and the upward curve of the mouth can make everything else straighter.  I like what the late comedian Milton Berle said of laughter:

Laughter is an instant vacation

I also am drawn the observation of Solomon in Proverbs where he said

He that has a merry heart has a continual feast.”

Do you find yourself starving for some joy and mirth in your heart? Are you so tied up with worry and concern, and so dour that you find it difficult to even get through the day? Turn back to the Lord. Rejoice in Him. Consider your situation through his eyes. That which you may regard as overwhelming is not beyond his capacity to heal and handle. And strive each day to add some laughter to your life. It is an instant vacation…a continual feast. Let’s Pray!

O Lord, my Joy; fill my heart with laughter and joy of which You are the source. May I rejoice in this new day that you have made and be truly glad in it. This I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen!

 

 

 

Categories

