Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 30, 2016

March 30, 2016 “The Most Enviable of Titles”

“Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor” (Exodus 20:16)

Good Morning Everyone! “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

In recent days, we have been inundated with reports of wrongdoing by more than a few of the presidential candidates. Most of the accusations come from one candidate’s camp against another, and at times it is difficult to sort out what is true from that which is not. As a result, denial leads to litigation and it is left to the impartial to decide, while those of us earnestly endeavoring to determine who would be best suited to lead our nation as president for the ensuing four years must come to our own conclusions based on evidence and character.

Over Easter weekend, I took time to re-watch one of my favorite movies…the 1956 film “The Ten Commandments.” One of the more dramatic scenes of the film finds Moses on the mountain receiving the ten commandments from God. At one point, The Lord’s thundering voice rings out, “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.” Just what does that mean? It means that we are not to accuse anyone of wrongdoing falsely, or we will find ourselves deserving of the same judgment which would befall one who has committed a wrongdoing. As I pondered this in light of the aforementioned presidential campaigning, I am admittedly perplexed. If accusations of egregious wrongdoing prove to be true, I would be hard pressed to support such a candidate. If the accusations are false, then I would not desire to be supportive of the candidate bearing false witness. Some of the dilemma lies in the fact that there me grains of truth in the accusations made mixed along with hyperbole and outright falsehood. I, (and I do not believe I am alone in this desire), long for a candidate whose integrity is impeccable, or at least of a character that demonstrates this consistently. Interestingly, it was for such a character that our first president, George Washington, strove. He once said,

“I hope I shall possess firmness and virtue enough to maintain what I consider the most enviable of all titles, the character of an honest man”.

I am praying for such a leader to emerge from the current crop of candidates. To me, this is, as Washington emphasized, “the most enviable of all titles” our next president could, and should, possess. Strength of character in our leadership will strengthen and inspire us as a nation. Let’s pray for those who would lead. Let’s pray for our nation. Let’s pray for our citizens. Let’s pray!

Mighty and Holy Lord; You demand honesty and integrity from those who would call themselves your people. May we all humbly bow before you, seeking to be people of firmness and virtue…people of honesty and integrity. This we pray in Jesus’ Great Name. Amen!

Categories

