Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 21, 2016

March 21, 2016 “A Harvest of Righteousness and Peace”

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:11)

Good Morning Friends!

“How long will it take until I am completely healed?” This is the question I recently asked my physical therapist after a particularly strenuous session spent working on my knee. Not long ago, I had knee replacement surgery and discovered that, unlike some surgeries where healing returns in a relatively short period of time, recovery from total knee replacement surgery can take many months of continual therapy. The therapist’s answer to my question was simply, “That all depends on you.” In other words, the time needed for the muscles around my knee to heal properly is directly proportional to the effort I am willing to exert and dedicate to the therapy required. In a word…discipline.

I confess, I do not look forward to the therapy sessions. They are painful, difficult, and unpleasant. But I understand that everything done there is for the benefit of my healing, and nothing done there is going to harm me. Painful? Indeed! Harmful? No!

Similarly, discipline in spiritual matters as well as in learning to live an honorable and godly life is not always a pleasant experience. Often, it involves lessons painfully administered but necessary for the journey towards maturity. I recall more than one occasion, when having been disciplined by my parents for some inappropriate action, I would angrily run up to my room crying and saying something foolish like “You don’t love me anymore.” Quite the opposite was true, and the fact that my parents chose to discipline me for my disobedience proved it.

Discipline lessons can be self-administered as well. Eschewing a second donut, or even a first one…can be regarded as a discipline lesson for someone with a penchant for food indulgence. Being attentive to the words we utter or think when angered can be an exercise in discipline. Spending more time in God’s Word and talking daily with God instead of frittering away our time in aimless pursuits and amusement is yet another example of self-discipline. Consider again the wise words we find in Hebrews: “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it”. 
True, you may not like it at the time, but it will yield a harvest of righteousness and peace at the end of the day. It’s worth it! Let’s Pray!

Chasten and discipline us, O Gracious Lord, that we might learn more of You day by day, and reap a reward of righteousness and peace. This we pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen!

Categories

