Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 10, 2016

January 10, 2016 “The Blessings of Not Winning”

“Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget none of His benefits.” (Psalm 103:2)

 

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day Everyone!

Well, I along with millions of others who chased the dreams of practically unimaginable avarice, did not win the 900 million dollar “Powerball” jackpot. Like many, I dreamed of what I would do with such largess were it to come my way, (which it most assuredly did not).  Many like me allowed their imaginations to run wild. Today, however, in light of the reality of not winning, I am taking a different perspective and considering the manifold blessings of NOT winning. “What are some of those blessings?” you may ask. Here is a short list of benefits:

  1. I have no need of hiring a financial adviser
  2. My taxes will be much simpler to calculate
  3. I will not be inundated with calls of those appealing to my generosity
  4. The media will not be flocking to my doorstep to solicit my reaction to winning
  5. I will not be compelled to hire bodyguards to protect me from scoundrels after the loot.

Besides these few listed benefits (and I could go on and on), it brings me to this wisdom from Psalm 103: Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget none of His benefits.” Oh yes…I have already been extraordinarily blessed by the Lord, and i didn’t even have to stand in line to purchase a ticket to obtain them. They began even before i was born. While still in my mother’s womb, He knew me and loved me. He gave me life. I was blessed with loving parents and siblings. I have a beautiful wife…eleven children and twenty-two grandchildren. I have enjoyed the privilege of sharing the Gospel all around the nation, meeting and making many new friends along the way. I’ve been redeemed! My salvation is assured through the precious blood of the Lamb of God. Nine hundred million dollars? How can that begin to compare with what already is mine? Every breath I take is a blessing. Jesus loves me! I have laid up for me the wonderful inheritance of being a child of the King…matchless treasure. Do not be discouraged or dissuaded into believing that all of life’s successes are measured by the size of the bottom line of your bank account. Remember what Jesus said at the Sermon on the Mount: “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal;  for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also”. Let’s pray!

Generous, Gracious Lord: Teach us to value the blessings you have bestowed on us each day, and to treasure above all else a right relationship with you, the Giver of every good and perfect gift. This we pray in the name of our Redeemer King, jesus Christ the Lord. Amen

Categories

