Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 8, 2016

January 8, 2016 “The Powerball”

David said to God, “I have sinned greatly, in that I have done this thing. But now, please take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.”                        (1 Chronicles 21:8)

Good Morning My God-Trusting Friends!

No doubt, many of you are aware of the record-breaking “Powerball” jackpot drawing scheduled for this coming Saturday. It is estimated that the jackpot could reach the staggering sum of $750 million dollars!Some are even speculating that due to record sales, that figure could top one billion dollars. Like many, I began to calculate what I could do with such largess were I to be the recipient of such wealth. I could pay off bills, bless family and friends, contribute to churches I have served and am now attending. I could buy my wife a nice house close to the kids and grand-kids and get her the car she desires. After all that, I would still have hundreds of millions left. I’d be set for life! That’s the general direction I was taken by my avaricious thoughts.

Then I read this passage from 1st Chronicles. David had ordered a census. He wanted to know how many fighting men were at his disposal to do battle with the hated Philistines. Now as reasonable as that sounds, David’s sin was that he wound up putting his trust in numbers rather than in God. Joab understood this, reminding the king, ‘May the lord multiply his troops a hundred times over. My lord, the king, are they not all my lord’s subjects? Why does my lord want to do this? Why should he bring guilt on Israel?’  Joab understood that Israel’s success did not depend on the size of the army, but in God’s provision.  David, though he had witnessed God’s provision many times, overruled Joab, putting his trust in numbers rather than in God. Realizing his sin, he cries out to the Lord, “I have sinned greatly, in that I have done this thing. But now, please take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.” You may, in fact, (albeit highly unlikely) , someday win a lottery drawing, and we will all join in the celebration of your good fortune. But remember, our salvation is not in our bank account. It is not found in statistics. Our salvation, our protection, our very lives, are in the hand of our gracious Lord. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will direct your path.” Let’s pray!

Generous, gracious God,  Our greatest desire is to put our complete trust in You. You feed the birds of the air. You clothe the lilies of the field. We are worth much more to you than birds and flowers. May we learn to trust in your provision for all of life’s circumstances, for you alone are the giver of every good and perfect gift. We don’t want to be stupid, but wise and turn to you daily for what we need for each new day, as you have instructed us. Thank you for your gracious care. Amen

Categories

