Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 4, 2016

January 4, 2016 “Finding Your Way Back”

“I am poured out like water,
And all my bones are out of joint;
My heart is like wax;
It is melted within me”. (Psalm 22:14)

Good Morning My Dear Friends!!

Take a good look at the passage quoted from the 22nd Psalm. I would  speculate that there are times and seasons of life when we have all felt like the psalmist. It may last a day, a week, a month, a year, or even longer. As I grow older, I have heard more than a few people observe that “Growing older is not for sissies. I can certainly relate to that. My eyes, my hearing, and my joints are all exhibiting signs of aging. But life’s challenges are not limited simply to physical challenges. Perhaps you’ve had a hard day at work and you’ve come home feeling like a bucket that has been kicked over and spilled…completely drained of energy and enthusiasm. Maybe you’ve experienced some sort of a loss that has left your heart grieving and feeling like a blob of melted wax. Maybe you just feel worn down by life and its challenges, so much so that you feel it down into your bones and you don’t even feel like talking about it. There may even be times you are spiritually drained and finding it difficult to talk with God about those things going on in your life. There was a time when you could, and did, freely communicate with God. You shared everything with Him in prayer…your joys as well as your concerns. You praised Him, you, petitioned Him, you lifted up others before his throne…but now you just feel that you’ve poured out your heart to the point that there is nothing left to pour out, so you give up on prayer. You’re empty! So what do you do? I would suggest that this, of all times, is a time to come to God in prayer that He might fill you up once more. The great Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote,

“Prayer does not mean simply to pour out one’s heart. It means rather to find the way to God and to speak with him, whether the heart is full or empty. “

Think of prayer as your connection with God. Find the way back if you are lost. Remember His promises to you…”Lo, I am with you always”…”I will never leave you or forsake you.”…”Seek and ye shall find, knock and the door shall be opened, ask and it shall be given unto you.”  Find your way back to God. His promises are sure. He is ever near. He will see you through. Let’s pray!

Gracious God; We confess that there are days when we find praying difficult, and perhaps we don’t even try seeking You. Encourage our hearts, Lord, with the reassurance of Your abiding presence and Your unfailing love. Then we shall mount up with wings like eagles and rejoice in Your presence once more. Hear our prayer, O Lord, and grant us Your peace. Amen!

Categories

