Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | December 31, 2015

December 31, 2015 “Alpha and Omega”

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.” (Revelation 22:13)

“And Jesus kept increasing in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men”. (Luke 2:52)

 

Good Morning on this Last Day of 2015, My Friends!

As my grandchildren have grown, my thoughtful sons and daughters and their spouses have shared pictures and videos of them on social media learning the familiar “Alphabet Song”. It is such a treat hearing them sing, learn, and grow throughout the year, especially since my work has prevented me from personally sharing those magic moments with them. I smile as I listen to their sweet voices and marvel, as do their parents, at how fast they learn and grow. Living as we do on this side of eternity, it is God’s design that we grow, learn, and mature.

When Christ came into the world in the flesh, he did not come as a fully developed human being. He came, as do we all, as an infant. He didn’t come into the world knowing everything. He learned as do we all. Did he ever make mistakes? I think so. Did he ever deliberately disobey his parents? Never, for scripture tells us, “He’s been through weakness and testing, experienced it all—all but the sin”.(Hebrews 4:15). It is comforting to know that we have a Lord who understands the human situation completely. One could argue, I suppose, that being God, of course he would understand. He made all things, after all! The very act of emptying himself of his divine glory and experiencing everything we do firsthand is love beyond understanding. It is empathy to the nth degree! The same child raised and taught his alphabet by Joseph and Mary is himself “the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”

As we conclude yet another calendar year, let us remember the extraordinary love and empathy of the One who is the First and the Last, the Eternal God. He is Lord at the conclusion of this year. He is be Lord as we prepare to begin another year. He will be Lord when our earthly years are at an end. He is the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”

Lord of All Time and Eternity; I conclude this year with a prayer of praise to you for bringing me safely through another year. I will begin the New year in the same fashion if, by your grace, I have opportunity to do so. And should you call me home, I will join the everlasting chorus of praise around your Throne of Grace declaring your praises for eternity, for You are Alpha and Omega, First and Last, Beginning and End. Blessed be the Name of the Lord forever and ever. Amen!

Categories

