Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | December 8, 2015

December 8, 2015 “Prayer and Patience”

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;   I will be exalted among the nations,  I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10)

Good Morning Partners In Prayer!

I find it interesting and a bit amusing how the Lord can take the most obscure incidents from one’s past and posit those things in our memories and bring them to remembrance years later for his purposes. That’s what happened to me as I meditated on this passage and on a quote I will share in just a bit. I was in my mid-teens at the time, and was called upon to be an umpire at a baseball game in my hometown in Marietta, PA. Now this wasn’t some sort of special game. It wasn’t a playoff or anything like that. It was just a bunch of guys playing a game of baseball and they needed an umpire and I agreed to do it. Who knows why I remember it so clearly? There was a point in the game where there was a very close play at home plate. A runner broke from third, streaking for home. I remember him sliding in and raising up a great cloud of dust. Though I didn’t have a clear view of what transpired, it was up to me to make the call. “Out“, I cried. You would have thought I had instigated a riot! Storms of protest were hurled at me by the team at bat. Truth be told, I don’t know if I made the right call or not, but nonetheless, I made the call to the best of my ability after the dust had settled. I suppose what I remember most was that I was greatly maligned for the call I made and never again was I offered the opportunity to umpire a game (not that I would have agreed anyway)! Perhaps I made the call to hastily, but when the dust had settled, it did appear that the runner was, in fact, out at the plate, so I stand by my call.

This passage from Psalm 46 reminds me that it is always a good idea to allow God to settle matters brought to him in prayer. In Ecclesiastes, Solomon reminds us that “To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven.” When it comes to prayer, this is also true. There is a time to speak, and a time to be still. Prayer isn’t just talking. It also involves waiting before God and trusting in Him to address the situation. Evangelist F. B. Meyer said it this way:

“Prayer means not always talking to Him, but waiting before Him till the dust settles and the stream runs clear.” 

Prayer and patience are partners. Immediate answers to prayer are not always forthcoming. Perfect answers to prayer are. God will always make the right call. Like the team that railed against me, we may sometimes believe God “blew it” when it comes to our particular prayer request, because we really want our expectations met rather than the right call which is made by God. But when the dust settles and the stream runs clear, we’ll discover that the call is the right call, and we’ll find ourselves safe at home. Let’s pray!

O Lord; teach me stillness before You. Teach me to know that You are God and that Your answer is the best answer…the perfect answer to my prayer. Teach me to talk less and listen more. Amen!

Categories

