Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 23, 2015

November 23, 2015 “He Who Searches the Hearts”

“We do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God”. (Romans 8: 26-27)

 

Good Morning My Friends!!

A few months ago, I recall talking on the phone with a dear friend of mine who lives out of state…one of those “prayer warriors” on whom I can always depend as need arises, or even those occasions when no particular need is expressed. I asked this friend to remember me in prayer regarding a particular need, and was assured that those prayers would be forthcoming (as I knew they would be). Shortly after ending that call, my phone rang. It was my friend informing me that someone not known to either one of us had overheard the end of the conversation in which my friend had indicated that prayers would be made for me. This stranger told my friend that she, too, would join in prayer for me. Imagine that! Someone I didn’t know, hundreds of miles away, would be praying for me. That’s such a blessing, and it is God at work. I am sure that this was a messenger from God! It is the Spirit at work! In this passage from Paul’s letter to the Christians in Rome, Paul assures them that the Holy Spirit himself prays for us! I believe this incident to be a manifestation of that reality. The Holy Spirit intercedes on our behalf before our Lord, the One Paul refers to as “He who searches the hearts.” This is demonstrative of God’s will. Robert Murray McCheyne wrote:

“If I could hear Christ praying for me in the next room, I would not fear a million enemies. Yet distance makes no difference. He is praying for me.”

Distance makes no difference. Just what is the distance between heaven and earth? Is it millions of miles? Is it to be measured in light years?  When Gabriel visited Mary with the news that she would bear a son, he said that he shall be called “Emmanuel” , that is, “God With Us.” Heaven is not some far-off place. God is here with us. The Holy Spirit is interceding on our behalf. He moves in the hearts of people we know and even in those we don’t know to intercede for us. We need not fear a million enemies. God is with us…always. Let’s pray!

Eternal God: You are the great ‘I AM’, eternally, everlastingly with us. You know me through and through. Your Holy Spirit is praying for me, in accordance with Your perfect will. I need not fear a million enemies. Glory be to You, dear Lord. Thank You for Your abiding presence in my life. Amen

Categories

