Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 17, 2015

November 17, 2015 “The Narrow Room”

“I delight to sit in his shade,  and his fruit is sweet to my taste. Let him lead me to the banquet hall, and let his banner over me be love.” (Song of Solomon 2: 3-4)

Good Morning Beloved Friends!

When i was in 8th grade, our class took a trip from Pennsylvania to New York City…my first trip to the “Big Apple.” Perhaps you have seen the movie “An Affair To Remember”, or maybe “Sleepless In Seattle”. Both of those films have as a romantic focal point… the top of the Empire State Building… where two people destined to fall in love meet. In the evening, there are few spots quite as romantic as the top of the Empire State Building. It was that way for me, even in 8th grade, where I became smitten with a beautiful young lady in my class as I stood next to her and looked out over that sparkling city. So taken was I with this young girl that I was inspired to write my very first song, which, somewhat to my embarrassment, my music teacher learned of and he played it during music class at school with the object of my affection in the room. Now nothing much really developed of that ill-fated “romance” or the song, for that matter, but those first stirrings of the heart were thrilling and unforgettable. Like Solomon, all I wanted to do was to savor the deliciousness of those moments.

Later on, I fell in love with One whose love would not be so fleeting…One Who brought be to his great banqueting table for a festive meal that changed my life. Of course, I am speaking of the One who loved me before I was born…One whose love for me never fails…One whose blessings are endless and delicious in their bounty…Jesus Christ.  I talk with him every day in prayer. I share my deepest love, my fears, my frustrations, my joys, my thanks, and my praise with him. It has been written that :

“Prayer brings together two lovers, God and the soul, in a narrow room where they speak much of love.”

That’s the way it is with the Lord. That’s what prayer can accomplish. My soul is connected with my Lord and my God, and I know I am loved. Outward circumstances do not change the inward reality and blessed assurance I have of that abiding love. His banner over me is love, and evermore shall be. Go to that narrow room. It’s even better than the top of the Empire State Building. Speak much of love with the One Who loves you most. Let’s pray!

Loving Lord; What a feast of love you lay before us. We can scarcely partake of its richness…yet you have provided an eternity for us to do so. How we love and praise You, dear Lord. How we love You. How we do praise and thank you, our beloved master. I am my beloved’s and He is mine…His banner over me is love. Amen!

Categories

