Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 14, 2015

November 14, 2015 “Follow-Up Praying”

“Praise the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits.” (Psalm 103:2)

Good morning Everyone!

As I grow older, I have discovered that I am becoming more and more forgetful of things. Now I have a theory about this. I think of my mind as sort of a “file cabinet”, as it were, packed with bits and pieces of all sorts of information. Unlike a computer, where old data can simply be deleted, in the brain those bits and pieces of things remain. Not being the world’s most organized person, that data tends to get scrambled around with other data, and unless I take the time to prioritize things carefully, things tend to get lost in the pile of data I have fed into my head, and lost in the shuffle. In other words, even though the data is there, I can’t find it in the quagmire that is my mind and it is “misplaced” or forgotten, often to my embarrassment. Now I admit that this is even the case, from time to time, in my prayer life. I have prayed about a situation or for someone. Time passes, and I have forgotten about that prayer. There are times when prayer demands action, and though I have prayed, the action that should follow the prayer is not always remembered. We might call it “Follow-up praying.” That action might be a prayer of thanksgiving for a sought after answer. It may be a continuance of the prayer for the situation. Perhaps it would be a prayer for another directly affected by the situation. Remembering our prayers, that is, the focus of our prayer, is important. Matthew Henry said it quite well:

“It is good for us to keep some account of our prayers, that we may not unsay them in our practice.”

How do we keep account of the prayers we have said? One practical way that some use is to journal them…write the date down and a few words about the situation or the individual for what or whom you have prayed. This may help keep you focused and on task when it comes to your prayer life. You may have another solution…whatever works for you is fine. The important thing is not to let our actions or our forgetfulness lead to an undoing of that very situation  for which we have prayed. Stay focused. Ask God to bring things to your remembrance. ““Forget not all his benefits.” Let’s pray!

O Lord; we are prone to forget the great benefits that are available to us through prayer. We even forget, at times, to pray. Help keep us focused on the important things. Help keep us focused on Your goodness and Your grace, we pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen!

Categories

