Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 5, 2015

November 5, 2015 “Tweedledum and Tweedledee”

“How long shall I bear with this evil congregation who are grumbling against Me? I have heard the complaints of the sons of Israel, which they are making against Me.” (Numbers 14:27)

Good Morning Everyone!

Truth be told, when my baby sister Janey (whom I still refer to as “Baby Janey”), was little, she was a bit of a grumbler…usually regarding some undesired activity such as eating a food she didn’t like. She would declare in no uncertain terms, “I don’t like tuna fish.” “Don’t give me any cream of celery soup…I won’t eat it.” Quite often, my dad or mom would find a lump of uneaten tuna fish or a little pile of celery that my sister had managed to stash behind the television or the sofa in the living room. My dad used to call her “Little Miss Grumbletones”. Listen to me! I was no saint, either, and my dad, (who was fond of nicknames) used to sarcastically call my brother and me, who were frequently squabbling, “The Happiness Twins”... “Tweedledum and Tweedledee.” Grumbling is nothing new. We find it early on in scripture. The Israelites, God’s Chosen People, after being delivered out of bondage in Egypt by the mighty hand of God, soon were grumbling about the manna God had provided for them to sustain them in the wilderness. They grumbled so much so that even the amazing patience of God was tested to the point of God saying to Moses and Aaron, “How long will this wicked community grumble against me? I have heard the complaints of these grumbling Israelites.” Even the patience of God Almighty has its limits.

Are you a “Little Mr or Miss Grumbletones?” Are you “Tweedledum? Tweedledee?” I don’t know who said this, but I agree with it completely:

“If Christians spent as much time praying as they do grumbling, they would soon have nothing to grumble about.” 

Had the Israelites been praying…praising God for his strong deliverance, his provision, his guidance, his goodness and his mercy, there would have been precious little time for grumbling. Had they turned their focus from their rumbling stomachs to their awesome Lord, they would soon have nothing left to grumble about. The next time you are tempted to complain about something or someone, instead of grumbling about it, take it to the Lord in prayer. let Him turn your grumbling into shouts of praise and declarations of the peace that passes understanding. Let’s pray!

Blessed Lord; It is our prayer that today we would spend more time in praise and thanksgiving than we do in grumbling and complaining. Transform us into peacemakers, for they are blessed. Amen!

Categories

