Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 22, 2015

October 22, 2015 “A New Roll of Coins”

“O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee.” (Psalm 63:1)

Good Morning Friends. This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

Just a few days ago, my bride convinced me that we needed to purchase one of those “one cup at a time coffee makers.” What is particularly interesting about the purchase and her insistence that we obtain said coffee maker is that she never drinks coffee and I only occasionally! However, if you are like a lot of other people, the day hardly gets underway before that first cup of coffee. I have a dear friend in Colorado as well as a mother in Pennsylvania who will vouch for that. So attention, you two…”There be coffee here.”

I was not a coffee drinker at all for a long time. In fact, I never really got started drinking it until I served a small church in northwest Iowa, where I served a church just a few miles from the Minnesota boarder. My office administrator, Deloris, was of a habit of taking a mid-morning coffee break right around 10:30 or so, and insisted that I stop and have some coffee with her. Despite my protestations that I was not a coffee drinker, I reluctantly acquiesced to her desire and dutifully downed a cup or so with her each morning. It wasn’t too long before that became more of a ritual, and my disdain for it soon changed to tolerance, and eventually to liking it. Though I am not as fanatical about it as some, I do enjoy a cup in the morning, and it really does help give me a little energy boost as the day begins.

That being said, I know of a much better way to start the day than coffee, and one that I employ “religiously (pun intended). The psalmist expressed it eloquently when he wrote, “O God, you are my God; early will I seek Thee.”  In reading of prayer, I found this little morning prayer that is truly a great way to start the day. It goes like this:

“When I got up in the morning I just realized that each moment of the day has it’s own value/worth. Morning time is for renewing hope, Afternoon for faith in the almighty God, Evening time the time to love, And of course Night time to rest.

Such good thoughts, and such truth! Begin the day with prayerful realization that each moment is significant and has value. None should wasted. Many have used the expression, “How do you plan to ‘spend’ the day.” If you think of each moment as currency, how, indeed, will you “spend” your day? Each moment has value. A new day brings new hope…”a new roll of coins”, as it were. Your daily “account” is renewed. Afternoon leads us to a deepening trust of God who has been with us and is with us in the midst of the new day. Evening time, spend your allotment sharing the love that has been lavished upon you. And then at night, rest in the Lord, who has brought you safely through once more. What do you intend to do in this new day? I trust it will be time well “spent”.  Let’s pray!

Almighty and Generous Lord; You have provided for us in this new day, and entrusted us with new moments to “spend”. Teach us wise stewardship of the gift of this new day, we pray. Amen!

Categories

