Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 10, 2015

October 10, 2015 “Tap ‘N Knock ‘N Ring”

“Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29: 12-13)

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7)

Good Morning and Good Saturday Dear Friends!

When I was a teen, a singer by the name of Eddie Hodges, who got his start on a game show called “Name That Tune”, recorded a song called “I’m gunna knock on your door.” The gist of the song was about a persistent lad who was determined to establish a relationship with a girl that had caught his attention. In the song, the chorus declared “I’m gunna knock on your door…ring on your bell…tap on your window, tooIf you don’t come out tonight while the moon is bright, I’m gonna knock and ring and tap until you do.” His intended was hiding inside. It’s not clear in the song if she ultimately acquiesced , but in these passages today, we learn that, when pursued like the young woman in this song, God is more than amenable to being found.
One of my favorite childhood games was “Hide And Seek”. Admittedly, my brother was more skilled as a “hider” than I was as a “seeker”. Nonetheless, I would diligently seek him and the others playing the game and try as hard as I could to make it back to home base before they reached it in safety and the game  be lost. Seeking God, however, is not a game, and God is eager to be found by those earnestly seeking him. When we call, as I used to call in the game as a child “here I come…ready or not!”, we do so with the assurance that God is quite ready for us not only to seek him, but to find Him as well…that is, if we really do want to find him more than anything else. His promise through Jeremiah is if we do this, “You will seek me and find me when you search for me with all your heart.” Jesus made this same promise in Matthew’s gospel. God is not going to be disappoint us or frustrate us if we earnestly come and pray to Him. That is His decree. God wants us to call, to pray, to look, to get serious about finding Him more than anything else. Know this…as you do, you won’t be disappointed. That’s God’s promise, and God always keeps His promises!  Let’s pray!

Righteous Lord and King; here I come…and I know you are certainly ready to be found as I turn my thoughts and prayers to You this day. That is Your solemn decree. More than anything, Lord, it is my heart’s desire to fellowship with You and to open my heart to You this day. hear the prayers of my heart, O Blessed Lord. You know me better than I know myself! Guide and feed me through this day with that portion of “daily bread” You have prepared especially for me. I come seeking, knocking, and asking in the Blessed Name of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, Your Beloved Son. Amen!

Categories

