Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 9, 2015

October 9, 2015 “The Soul Cup”

“Whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.” (John 4:14)

Good Morning and Blessed Day Everyone!

Have you ever gone to the fridge and discovered that the coveted glass of milk or orange juice wasn’t available to you because the last person who had some put a practically empty, or near empty carton, back into the fridge? It’s frustrating, to say the least. Ok, Ok…confession time…I have been guilty of that offense from time to time, (more often than I care to admit), so sometimes my frustration is self-inflicted. When we want a glass filled with a refreshing drink, it is always desirable that the beverage we seek is actually available to us. We want that glass to be filled and our thirst quenched.

Jesus talked of being spiritually filled when he delivered his renown “Sermon on the Mount”. In  Matthew 5:6. He said, “Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” And who is it that fills up those who hunger and thirst for righteousness and how is to done? It’s the One Who never puts an empty carton back into the fridge. It is the One who said, “whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.” It is the Lord Jesus Christ Himself. Are you thirsty and wanting to be filled? Here’s how you do it…John Bunyan, author of “Pilgrim’s Progress”, the second-most sold book in history next to the Bible itself wrote,

“Prayer opens the heart of God, and is a means by which the empty soul is filled.” 

No need to open up the fridge for what you want. Better to open the heart of God through prayer. In doing so, you will discover “water springing up to eternal life.” Drink deeply from the fountain. Quench your thirst. Partake until your  soul cup“runneth over” with goodness and mercy. No more empty cartons. Let’s pray!

Fill my cup, Lord, with Your goodness and mercy. Fill my heart with Your love and grace. Fill my day with the joy of the Lord. Fill me until “my cup runneth over.” This I pray in Jesus’ Holy Name. Amen!

Categories

