Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | September 19, 2015

September 19, 2015 “Reconsidering the Pseudonym”

 

“Then Moses said to the Lord, “Please, Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither recently nor in time past, nor since You have spoken to Your servant; for I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.”  The Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes him mute or deaf, or seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord?  Now then go, and I, even I, will be with your mouth, and teach you what you are to say.” (Exodus 4: 10-12)

Good Morning Children of the Most High God!

Lately, I have been thinking of my high school days. I think it may be due to the reconnects I have made with old friends through social media.  I have reestablished relationships with friends which were largely lost because of distance and life circumstance. As I reconnect with them, I also reconnect with memories of teachers, classes, and particular life events. I recall, for instance, that at one time, I had ambitions of becoming a writer. I even had selected a pseudonym for myself. I thought the name “Michael Deleaux” had a certain flair and panache. None of my early writings, nor even those of latter years, have ever appeared on the New York Times best seller list, but I figure there may still be time. Perhaps I should reconsider that pseudonym!

I have always been fascinated with words. Sometimes they would serve me well. At other times, not so well. For example, when taking an exam that demanded an essay response, I would, on occasion, try to bluff my way through with superfluous observations, figuring the longer the response, (when I wasn’t really sure of what the correct response should be), the more likely I was to garner a passing grade! I soon discovered that my teachers were on to me, and I usually ended up getting the grade I truly deserved!

In the passage referenced today, Moses demonstrates his reluctance to go before Pharaoh with a message from God, citing his particular inadequacy related to speaking with eloquence. God reminds him just who it is that has given him the ability to even utter his protestations of inadequacy. It is the Lord himself! There are times when we pray, that our attitudes may be akin to those of Moses when it comes to what we lay before the Lord. We feel inadequate and perhaps unable to articulate that which we desire to convey to the Lord. I recently came across this observation regarding prayer which, I believe, illustrates the point:

“Prayer is a spiritual law which cooperates with the mind of God. It has more in it than merely petition. It clothes itself in reality and power, with the force of God Himself. It is an attitude of spirit and mind. Language is secondary in true prayer.”

True prayer is not just about the words we say or their particular eloquence. As is noted here, “Language is secondary to true prayer.”  True prayer is a dialogue. It is a spiritual law cooperating with the mind of God…an “attitude of spirit and mind”.   It serves to transform us. We are not informing God of anything, just as I was not informing my teachers of anything they didn’t already know. Instead, God informs and transforms us. It carries with it “the force of God himself”…clothed in “reality and power.”  Words are a tool, but prayer isn’t about the words. It is so much more than that. Don’t hesitate to come to God in prayer fearing that your imperfect words will be some sort of impediment to really connecting with God. You don’t need a fancy new name or an expanded vocabulary. Reconsider the pseudonym. You don’t need it! Believe me…he knows what you are trying to say, and it is “the Spirit Himself (that) intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words;”, so …Let’s Pray!

God of Grace; Connecting with you in prayer truly empowers and uplifts us, for You impart to us the knowledge of Your presence in our lives. For this, we rejoice and give praise and thanksgiving. You are Mighty to save, and we give you the glory now and forever. Amen!

Categories

