Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | September 17, 2015

September 17, 2015 “Refuge!”

“My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest; The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust in Him at all times, O people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.”  (Psalm 62: 5-8)

Good Morning My Friends in the Lord!

There is a sadly amusing statement the late comedian Robin Williams made about those of my generation and the times in which we spent our adolescence and young adulthood which goes like this: “If you remember the 60’s, you weren’t there”. It was the time of the “counter culture”  when dealing with the stresses and tensions of life were often reduced to the swallowing of a sugar cube laced with LSD or “mellowing out” with marijuana, or engaging in “free love” with whoever was willing and amenable. Of course, not everyone ascribed to such misguided practices, and now, some five decades later, we still face the same sorts of tensions, fears, and frustrations that those of past generations have always faced. In fact, thousands of years ago, at the time of King David, people were dealing with their own fears and frustrations, trials and tribulations. David understood that full well. His age-old solution, and the only truly effective solution, was to find his rest in God alone. David often took the time to express his feelings of fear and frustration to God, and then reaffirm his faith. He laid out his concerns in prayer, releasing his tension and emotional stress before God, his “rock, salvation, and fortress.” Trusting God to be our rock, salvation, and fortress changes our entire outlook on life. No longer need we be held prisoner because of resentment or fear. When we are ‘resting” in God’s strength, we will not be shaken. Therein, do we find our “Refuge!”

In the 1960’s, Timothy Leary was advocating that people “turn on, tune in and drop out” on LSD, which only led to disappointment , despair, and for some, death. David’s advice, offered thousands of years before the likes of Timothy Leary and the voices of the counter culture, is still God’s solution for dealing with our fears and frustrations:

My soul, wait in silence for God only,
For my hope is from Him.
 He only is my rock and my salvation,
My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.
On God my salvation and my glory rest;
The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.
Trust in Him at all times, O people;
Pour out your heart before Him;
God is a refuge for us.”

Let’s pray!

Loving Lord; this day we come before you in reverence, thankfulness and praise as we pour out our hearts before you. You know the burdens we bear, and you invite us to lay them down before you and assume your yoke instead, for yours is easy and it is light. Teach us to bring every concern we carry to you in prayer. Encourage us to pour out our hearts to you as we come to trust you more and more day by day. Thanks be to you, gracious Lord, now and always! Amen

   

Categories

