Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | September 3, 2015

September 3, 2015 “A Good Thing”

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.” (Proverbs 18:22)

Good Morning My Friends. This is the day the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

It was a rather typical day in Kansas City, Missouri in the fall of 1999. I made a trip to my bank along with my daughter Rian to open an account in her name and was greeted by winsome, vivacious, thoroughly captivating young woman whose charm and attractiveness immediately caught my attention. I vaguely recall her patiently going through the details of the new account with my daughter, but much more clearly recall the fact that I was rather smitten by her voice and her smile. As we were leaving the bank that day, I recall saying to Rian, “I don’t know if she is married, but I am going to find out.” For those who do not know me, let me make it clear that I was not married at the time, so it’s AOK, as the astronauts would say.

A few days later, I returned to the bank with some “questions” regarding the newly-opened account, (sans daughter). After flattering her regarding her professionalism and her friendliness (suave guy that I was), I finally got up the nerve to invite her to lunch. She told me that she would have to pray about it, as bank employees were discouraged from fraternizing with customers. When she told me she would pray about it, I assured her that I was a friend of the “Boss”, (meaning the Lord), and that I felt certain that he would approve of this planned rendezvous. The great news is that HE DID! That lunch date led ultimately to a wedding, and I am now happily married to the love of my life, my beautiful bride Lydia, who today is celebrating her birthday.

I thoroughly concur with this short, yet poignant observation from the book of Proverbs, that He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.”  The Lord favored me the day we were wed. Though I was unaware of as a child, he favored me on that September 3rd when Lydia Elaine Troxel was born. He favored me that day in a small bank in Kansas City, MO when I first laid eyes on her. He favors me today as we once again celebrate her birthday together. I love you, Lydia. I have found a good thing and favor from the Lord. Happy Birthday!  Let’s pray!

Today, O Lord, I come with a heart brimming with thanksgiving for the favor you have shown me. I am married to a godly, prayerful, beautiful woman, and it is to you that I give the glory. Blessed be the name of the Lord! Amen!

 

 

Categories

