Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 30, 2015

July 30, 2015 “Something To Celebrate”

 “Now all the people took note of it, and it pleased them, just as everything the king did pleased all the people.” (2 Samuel 3: 36)

 

Good Morning Everyone! This is the day the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it!!

Today would have been James Carlisle McDowell’s (my dad’s) 97th birthday. That’s something to celebrate! I really miss my dad. It’s hard to believe that it has been nearly 27 years now since the Lord called him home, but I still think of him and remember him every day. When I was about eleven years old, I entered a talent show. Back then, I played the accordion! Now even then, I was a bit competitive, and was disappointed when I did not take home the prize. But I remember sitting next to my dad, who put his arm around my shoulder, smiled, and said “Well Mike, you certainly won a piece of my heart.” That was worth far more to me than any talent show prize.   It always made me feel good when I did things that pleased my parents, and they recognized me for doing so. Later in the Book of 2nd Samuel, we read this about David and the way those of his kingdom felt about him: “So David reigned over all Israel; and David administered justice and righteousness for all his people”. David pleased the people, not because he tried to please them, but because he tried to please God. Very often, people who strive for popularity never succeed, and find it to be ultimately unfulfilling even when they do succeed. Instead of seeking popularity and acclaim, strive to do what is right, which will earn the appreciation of people, and more importantly, please God.  King David was revered for doing what was “just and right”. Justice should characterize the way we relate to others. In fact, it is one of God’s requirements (Micah 6:8). Not only was David just…he also did things that were right. One of the “right” things David did every day was pray. The Book of Psalms, as we have noted in previous posts, is truly a book of prayer. I took delight in pleasing my dad and my mother. I still take delight in pleasing my Heavenly Father, and encourage you to do the same. That would truly be something to celebrate! Let’s pray!

Dear Heavenly Father; In our heart of hearts, we desire to do what is just and right in your sight. It is our heart’s desire to please You in every way. We know our prayers of thanksgiving and praise honor and please you, so we lift them up gladly and joyfully. In all we do, may we honor you. This we pray in Jesus’ Blessed Name. Amen!

Categories

