Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 21, 2015

July 21, 2015 “Here I Come, Ready Or Not”

“Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29: 12-13)

 

Good Morning Everyone!

One of my favorite childhood games was “Hide And Seek”.  Admittedly, my brother and most of my friends were more skilled as “hiders” than I was as a “seeker”. Nonetheless, I would diligently seek them and try as hard as I could to make it back to home base before they reached it in safety and the game be lost. As I have grown older, I find that I still spend an inordinate amount of time seeking “hidden” things like my car keys, my cell phone, and various and sundry other items that somehow manage to skillfully disappear from my sight!

Seeking God, however, is not a game, nor is he endeavoring to hide from us. God is eager to be found by those earnestly seeking him. When we call, as I used to call out in the game, “Here I come…ready or not!”, we do so with the assurance that God is quite ready for us not only to seek him, but to find Him as well…that is, if we really do want to find him more than anything else. His promise through Jeremiah is, “call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” If we do this, God is not going to be disappoint us or frustrate us. That is His decree. God wants us to call, to pray, to seek, to search with all our heart…that is…to get serious about finding Him above all else. Understand this…as you do, you won’t be disappointed. That’s God’s promise, and God always keeps His promises!  Let’s pray!

Righteous Lord and King; here I come…and I know you are certainly ready to be found as I turn my thoughts and prayers to You this day. That is Your solemn decree. More than anything, Lord, it is my heart’s desire to fellowship with You and to open my heart to You this day. hear the prayers of my heart, O Blessed Lord. You know me better than I know myself! Guide and feed me through this day with that portion of “daily bread” You have prepared especially for me. I come seeking, knocking, and asking in the Blessed Name of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, Your Beloved Son. Amen!

Categories

