Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 11, 2015

July 11, 2015 “Extra Credit”

Then King David went in and sat before the Lord, and he said: “Who am I, Lord God, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far? And as if this were not enough in your sight, my God, you have spoken about the future of the house of your servant. You, Lord God, have looked on me as though I were the most exalted of men.”                      (1 Chronicles 17: 16-18)

Good Morning My Friends!

When I was in junior high school, (more commonly referred to as Middle School today),  I recall an occasion where our class was given an assignment to come up with an idea for a campaign regarding the harmful use of tobacco…sort of an anti-cigarette smoking project, for “extra credit” towards our final grade for the class. I wrote a poem for the occasion that actually turned out pretty well. I shared this idea with a classmate of mine, who, when called upon to share her idea with the class, used my poem, taking the credit for it herself, along with the praise of the teacher. I was reticent to claim that she had taken credit for something that was not hers and had been rewarded for it, and now realize that the very fact that I remember it to this day demonstrates the depth of annoyance I felt for not getting the extra credit.

David’s prayer serves as a great lesson in humility and the proper attitude we should display, even when someone else builds on the work we have done, or the desire for recognition we possess. God has just informed David that his son Solomon, not he, would be accorded the honor of building the temple. Instead of fussing and fuming of all the things he had already done for God, and that he should be given that honor, David’s response is one of deep humility. This king, who had slain Goliath, conquered armies, and was beloved by his people, prays. “Who am I, Lord God…that you have brought me this far?” This prayer demonstrates that David understood that God, not he, was the true king. God has done just as much for us as he has done for David, and he plans to do even more. We would do well to follow David’s example by humbling ourselves and giving God glory, praying as did he, “There is no one like You, O Lord.” When God chooses someone else to implement your ideas, turn envy to humility and praise. To God, and to God alone,  be the glory now and forever! Let’s pray!

God of Miracles; We humbly bow before you this day. Who are we that we should be so extraordinarily blessed? You have given Your own Son as a ransom for us. You have exalted us by Your infinite grace and mercy! Praise be to Your Holy Name forever, O Lord! Amen!

Categories

