Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | June 17, 2015

June 17, 2015 “The Lord’s Favor”

 

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing And obtains favor from the LORD.” (Proverbs 18:22)

“Many women have done wonderful things, but you’ve outclassed them all!” (Proverbs 31:8)

It was Saturday, fifteen years ago today, that I received a blessing beyond compare when Lydia Elaine McDowell became my bride. We hadn’t known each other but for a few months, but it was long enough for both of us to know that we were destined for a strange and wonderful relationship. We weren’t wrong, because I am still strange and she is still wonderful! All levity aside, I consider myself to be a truly blessed man to have married such a godly, beautiful, and creative woman. Solomon, who wrote the noted passages that head this post, was given the gift of wisdom by God, and this wise man rightly noted that “He who finds a wife finds a good thing And obtains favor from the LORD.”  I rejoice in the way the Lord has favored me with this woman of prayer. I can declare with the same affirmative tone that Many women have done wonderful things, but you’ve outclassed them all!”  If you are a husband reading this post, don’t wait for an anniversary or a birthday or Valentine’s Day to declare your love for your bride. She is an expression of God’s favor, and a good thing. If things are not going smoothly in your relationship right now, show her all the more how much you love her. All marriages, and all human relationships for that matter, will face challenging times, but remember, “A woman of God is to be praised.” Today, I simply want to share my joy with all of you…my joy that I have been favored by God with “a good thing”, for I have found my wife, the love of my life. I love you, Lydia, and I am a truly blessed man. And Lord…THANK YOU SO MUCH! Let’s pray!

In your wisdom, O Lord, you have fashioned a great treasure for me…a lifelong partner, friend, confidant, flesh of my flesh and bone of my bone…my beautiful bride. Teach me how to love and honor her each day of my life, I pray, in Jesus’ Great Name. Amen!

 

Categories

