Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | June 15, 2015

June 15, 2015 “Which One Are You?”

” For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and in Christ you have been brought to fullness.” (Colossians 2: 9-10)

Good Morning My Beloved Friends in Christ!

Lydia and I have enjoyed watching the television miniseries “A.D’, and the various portrayals of the early apostles. Seeing them in realistic settings reflective of the times they walked the earth gives a fresh perspective as to how the gospel was spread in those earliest days of the church. I find myself identifying with them more as I watch.

Have you ever thought of which of the twelve that Jesus called to become the apostles would be most descriptive of you? Which one are you most like? At times, I have identified myself most with Peter, eager to defend Christ on the one hand and deny him on the other. Then there are times I think of myself as being more like John, arguing with my brother as to my place of importance in the kingdom. There are even times when I have felt more like Judas, betraying with words the very One I claim to love the most. Most often, however, I see myself like Matthew, a pragmatist who yearns to see definitive evidence of God’s existence in my life through answered prayer.  Thankfully, just as Jesus was ready to show Matthew the indisputable physical evidence of His resurrection, the Lord stands in the ready to demonstrate His presence in answered prayer. In Him, “all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form”, which means that He is always with us, always on the ready to hear and answer our prayers as we fellowship with him.  Christian reformer John Calvin said,

“The answer of our prayers is secured by the fact that in rejecting them God would in a certain sense deny His own nature.”

God is not about to deny His own nature by unanswered prayer. It is God’s nature to give “good and perfect” gifts to His children. It would be against His nature to invite us to the Throne of Grace only to ignore our prayers and petitions, leading us to doubt and disbelief.   It would be the height of cruelty to promise His abiding presence only to have us discover that prayer is an exercise in futility. As He did for Thomas, God stands in the ready to be “put to the test” , as he is quite capable and willing to not only hear, but to answer our sincerest praying.  Then, as those answers come, may we, like Matthew, fall to our knees and declare in no uncertain terms of worship and praise, “My Lord and my God.” Let’s pray!

Holy and Merciful Lord; Your power extends over everything. Your glory is manifest in the sky above and the earth beneath. You are Lord and God. You are Master of everything. We pray with utter confidence in Your trustworthiness and perfect power. establish an unshakable faith and trust in our hearts in You, for You are worthy, Lord. hear our prayers we make thi9s day, for the sake of Your Beloved Son Jesus our Lord. Amen!

Categories

