Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | June 11, 2015

June 11, 2015 “El R’oi”

“She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are El R’oi,  the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.” (Genesis 12: 13)

Good Morning Fellow Friends of God!

Several years ago, singer Neil Diamond wrote and recorded a song called “I Am.” In the song, he sings “I am”, I said…to no one there. And no one heard at all…not even the chair.” A song from the musical “Chicago” echoes a similar theme:  “Cellophane, Mr. Cellophane shoulda been my name; Mr. Cellophane ’cause you can look right through me, Walk right by me and never know I’m there.”

I imagine that Hagar felt like that as she fled into the desert fearing for her life and that of her son Ishmael. She was scared and alone.  But the Angel of the Lord (whom I believe to be none other than Christ), saw her distress and comforted her. Who is this God who would comfort an outcast servant girl…or us…in our own times of lonely, aimless wandering…times when we feel that no one even knows that we’re alive? Hagar called him by the name “El Ro’i”…the God who sees me. Regardless of how desperate, alone and distant you may feel, the God who sees you witnesses all that you do and understands all that you are.  The lonely person in Neil Diamond’s woeful ballad would have done well to turn from his self-reflective “I am” to the Great “I AM”…El Ro’i...”the God who sees.” Then, like Hagar, he could have prayed and called God by name: “You’re the God who sees me. Yes! He saw me and I Him.” “Mr Cellophane” could have come to the understanding that he was wrapped in God’s unfailing love. The prophet Isaiah reminds each one of us to “Seek the Lord while he may be found. Call upon Him while He is near.”  Your human desire to be seen and known and noticed is met by the One who sees you…El R’oi. Let’s seek His face in prayer together.

Heavenly Father, You are the One who sees us and knows us. You knew us before we took our first breath. You have witnessed our every action…known our every thought. How great is your love for us. We can’t begin to understand it all, but we are grateful for your regard for us. As we seek your face, make your presence known to us, and let us delight in the fellowship that is ours with you because of Christ our Lord, for it is in His name we pray. Amen!

Categories

