Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 30, 2015

May 30, 2015 “Waaa Waaa Waaa”

“Be hospitable to one another without complaining.” (1 Peter 4:9)

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

Good Morning Everyone!

Next week, my bride and I are looking forward to a road trip we will be making with my brother and sister-in-law to visit my mother in Pennsylvania. We’ll be seeing some dear friends, attending a wedding, and enjoying ourselves…at least that’s the plan. Most of us realize that even with the best-laid plans, things may happen that leave us feeling “disgruntled”. The key is to not focus on these usually minor annoyances and learn not to complain, but rather to be thankful, as Paul admonishes, in all circumstances. 

I recently read a post from an online travel agency…one of those that helps vacationers plan their trip…listing actual complaints they received from some of those less-than pleased customers. They are ironically amusing, to say the least. Here are but a few…(remember, these are not made-up)…

“We went on holiday to Spain and had a problem with the taxi drivers as they were all Spanish. When we were in Spain, there were too many Spanish people there. The receptionist spoke Spanish, the food was Spanish. No one told us that there would be so many foreigners.”

“The beach was too sandy. We had to clean everything when we returned to our room. We found the sand was not like the sand in the brochure. Your brochure shows the sand as white but it was more yellow.”

“It’s lazy of the local shopkeepers in Puerto Vallartato close in the afternoons. I often needed to buy things during ‘siesta’ time — this should be banned.”

“No-one told us there would be fish in the water. The children were scared.”

“Although the brochure said that there was a fully equipped kitchen, there was no egg-slicer in the drawers.”

“I compared the size of our one-bedroom suite to our friends’ three-bedroom and ours was significantly smaller.”

This one is my favorite: “My fiancée and I requested twin-beds when we booked, but instead we were placed in a room with a king bed. We now hold you responsible and want to be re-reimbursed for the fact that I became pregnant. This would not have happened if you had put us in the room that we booked.”

Waaa Waaa Waaa!“These folks need to learn the spiritual discipline of being thankful in all circumstances and not spending so much time complaining about things (not that I’m complaining, you understand). A spirit of thankfulness has many benefits, not the least of which is the fact that it gladdens the heart. Most importantly, as Paul reminds us, “this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  The next time you find yourself complaining about someone or something, stop and remember the manifold blessings that are yours. I guarantee you’ll have a much more enjoyable vacation, work day, lunch, worship experience, or any other activity in which you happen to be engaged. Let’s pray!

This is the Day You have made, O Lord. I rejoice in it. I am glad for it. I thank you for it. May my heart be filled with the overflowing joy of the abundant life that is found in You, today and every day. Amen!

Categories

