Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 22, 2015

May 22, 2015 “Here Comes The Son”

“And to think you were midwife at my birth,
    setting me at my mother’s breasts!
When I left the womb you cradled me;
    since the moment of birth you’ve been my God.”(Psalm 22: 9-11)

 

Good Morning Family of Faith!

Sixty-six years ago today, I took my first breath outside my mother’s womb. It was a Sunday…that much I know, because I looked it up! There is also a well known little poem concerning those born on particular days which, coincidentally, notes that “Sunday’s child is full of grace.”  Isn’t that amazing…(pun and song reference intentional). I really am a child filled with grace…not because I was born on the day we refer to as “The Lord’s Day”, but because it is the grace of God, and not my own (and I am not just sorely lacking of my own “grace”…I am completely bereft of it)…that fills my heart. As I reflected on these verses from the Book of Psalms, a thought came to me. Isn’t it interesting that we number your living years according to the time it take the earth to revolve around the sun. Evidently, sixty-six years ago today, the earth was in relatively the same position in relation to the sun as it was on the day of my birth. My days are measured by the relationship of the earth with the sun. In the psalm, which is, in fact, a recorded prayer, David acknowledges that from the time he was conceived in his mother’s womb, he belonged to God. His true “birth” date was not measured by his physical birth in relation to the sun in the sky, but by his relationship to the Son of God! “” When I left the womb you cradled me; since the moment of birth you’ve been my God.” David’s own spiritual birth came a bit later, as did mine, when the eyes of his understanding were opened to know the Lord in a personal way. I do not remember that chronological date of my spiritual birth, though others of you may know precisely when you first came to know Christ as the Lord of your life, but I do know that I was just a child when I first came to belief. I recall the words Jesus shared with Nicodemus recorded in John’s gospel…”You must be born again.” Many of you who follow these prayer postings are born again. Perhaps some of you are not. Scripture instructs us to “Seek the Lord while he may be found. call upon him while he is near.” Jesus tells us, “Seek and you shall find; knock and the door shall be opened to you; ask and it shall be given unto you.” I believe if you truly seek a relationship with Christ, he will in no wise turn you away. Just think…today could be your birthday, too! On the day of my physical birth, the doctor, or perhaps my dad said something to the effect, as in the old Beatles’ song…”Here comes the son! When we’re born again, we may say “Here comes the Son of God, and I say, “It’s All Right!”Then we could truly celebrate together! Let’s pray!

Wonderful Savior; Even before we took our first breath, we belonged to you. You have known us all the time. May we come to know you, to love you, to serve you, and to worship you all the days of our lives, so we may spend an eternity praising you. We love you Lord and thank you for your grace and your steadfast love. Amen

 

Categories

