Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 10, 2015

May 10, 2015 “The One Who Never Forgets”

“Can a mother forget the infant at her breast, walk away from the baby she bore? But even if mothers forget, I’d never forget you—never.” (Isaiah 49:15)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day and a Happy Mother’s Day to all!

I am a blessed man in so many countless ways. I have married a loving, godly , prayerful woman. I have eleven beautiful sons and daughters and twenty-one (soon to be twenty-two) wonderful grandchildren. I have enjoyed the privilege of serving the Lord in sixteen different congregations in eight different states. I have a fantastic older brother and younger sister. I could go on and on about my many blessings. But the one I wish to highlight today is that I was raised by a mother who is now affectionately referred to by her children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, nieces and nephews as “The Matriarch of the Fam.” It is a title of great endearment, and one well deserved, not just for her longevity (for which I do continually give thanks), but for the many lives she has touched through her playful spirit, her outlook on life, her wisdom, and her love. Yes, I am a blessed man, and I love you so much, mother.

I realize that not all of you still enjoy the comfort of a loving mother. Some have mothers no longer living. Others of you may not have enjoyed the same loving relationship with your mother that I have with mine. To all of you, and particularly to those of you who more closely relate to that reality, I encourage you to consider God’s promise to his people spoken through the prophet Isaiah, where God says, Can a mother forget the infant at her breast, walk away from the baby she bore? But even if mothers forget, I’d never forget you—never.” There is One who will never stop loving you…One whose love will never pass away…one whose steadfast care is constant and unfailing, and that is the Lord God. Unlike earthly mothers, admittedly some wonderful and others neglectful, God will remain ever-faithful, ever-trustworthy, ever-caring.  Some of us, thankfully many of us, have known the comfort of a loving mother. One of our greatest presidents, Abraham Lincoln, once said of his mother,

“I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”

But even if, unlike Lincoln, you did not have a mother who interceded for you before the Throne of Grace, you do have a God whose Holy Spirit does just that! Such is nature of the love of God for you.  “Even if mothers forget, I’d never forget you—never.” Let’s pray!

Merciful and Everlasting Lord; Thank you for those mothers who tenderly cared for us from childhood. Thank you for the wisdom and care they have imparted. Thank you also, Lord, that even if we had never experienced such nurturing from our earthly mothers, You have sustained us by your amazing grace and goodness. We praise your Great Name forever, and give you all the glory. Amen!

Categories

