Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 5, 2015

May 5, 2015 “In Season and Out of Season”

“Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction.” (2 Timothy 4:2)

Good morning Everyone! This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

A few years ago, the denomination I have served throughout the course of my ministry changed its title designating the position to which I have been called by God from “Minister of Word and Sacrament” to “Teaching Elder.” While particular titles aren’t all that important to me, (for I know the calling the Lord has laid on my heart), I must confess that I prefer the former title to the latter. This is not to suggest that I do not enjoy teaching…I do, and I consider the teaching of God’s Word to be a high call indeed, but more than a teacher, I am a minister of the word. How does one define “minister”? One definition would be a person acting as the agent or instrument of another.” In this case, I understand my call as that of an instrument of God, serving at his pleasure and for his benefit. My primary mission is to rightly and humbly declare that which is found in the Word of God, proclaiming it boldly and with fierce conviction, not deviating from it to satisfy others, but adhering to it jealously and unswervingly. 

I recall an occasion from some years ago when, at a church I was serving at the time, one of the members took me aside and proceeded to inform me of my shortcomings in preaching. Her objection: “You preach too much from the Bible.” To this day, I consider it to be one of the greatest complements I ever received, though it was meant as criticism. I cannot imagine my Lord addressing me on the day I stand before the Great Judgment Throne, sternly pointing a finger at me and declaring, “I find you guilty of preaching too much from My Holy Word.” Christian author and preacher Sidney Greidanus, on writing of the high call of ministry, put it like this:

“If preachers wish to preach with divine authority, they must proclaim this message of the inspired Scriptures, for the Scriptures alone have divine authority. If preachers wish to preach with divine authority, they must submit themselves and echo the Word of God. Preachers are literally to be ministers of the Word.”  

Anything that I would preach that deviates from the truth of the Word would be mere conjecture on my part and of no eternal value whatsoever. It would carry no divine authority and would be “no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men.” My designated denominational title is that of “teaching elder”, but my God-given call is that of “Minister of the Word.” Please pray with me that I would be faithful to that call in all the days God in his mercy grants me. Let’s pray!

Holy God; In your grace, You have called me to be a minister, an agent, an instrument to be used in Your service and for your purposes. I pray that I would be ever faithful to that call. On those occasions when I would deviate from that with is in accordance with Your perfect will, set my feet on a right path, that I might not lead others astray, but that we might follow confidently where You lead. This I pray in Jesus’ Great Name. Amen!

Categories

