Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 30, 2015

April 30, 2015 “Catch A Falling Star”

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3: 14)

Good Morning Everyone!

As a child, my love of music knew no bounds. I was always listening to it or playing it on some instrument or another. One of the instruments I endeavored to master as a child was the accordion. I loved all the buttons and the keys, and was fascinated at how at the push of a button, the accordion could modulate into an entirely different key, even though the same keys and buttons were being played in the same way. It was just a fun instrument. For a time, I practiced it faithfully, even to the point that my dad had me enter a local community talent show. What was really cool (do people still say “cool”?), was that I also had a live orchestral background as I played “Catch A Falling Star.” I had visions of greatness, and being the rather competitive child that I was, I anticipated winning a prize in the talent show. It seems that my evaluation of my particular skills overreached my actual ability, for when the winners were announced, my name was not one of them. I was quite disappointed. But my dad was there to “catch a falling star”. Noting my obvious disappointment in not winning a prize, he put his arm around me and said “Well, Mike, you won a piece of my heart tonight.” Those words of love and encouragement were all it took to turn my disappointment into a true sense of accomplishment. I wasn’t adjudged a prize winner in the talent show, but I left with a prize far more meaningful than any accolade I could have received otherwise…the approval of my loving father.

There is a prize far more valuable and to be pursued with far more intensity than any earthly reward…a prize our Heavenly Father will bestow on those who, like Paul, determine to “press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called (us) heavenward in Christ Jesus.” German author Basilea Schlink offered these words of encouragement to those pressing on toward that heavenly reward:

“Do not be lazy. Run each day’s race with all your might, so that at the end you will receive the victory wreath from God. Keep on running even when you have had a fall. The victory wreath is won by him who does not stay down, but always gets up again, grasps the banner of faith and keeps on running in the assurance that Jesus is Victor.” 

You may feel like a falling star at times. Indeed, you will likely stumble along the way  When this happens, do as the great American songwriter Jerome Kern suggested, “Take a deep breath, pick yourself up, dust yourself off, start all over again.” Press on toward the goal to win the prize. Your Heavenly Father is there to catch a falling star and award the victory wreath. Let’s pray!

Great God; No earthly accolade can match the prize that awaits those who run life’s race for You. You raise me up when I am down. You set my feet on paths of righteousness. You love me with an everlasting love. Worthy are You, O Lord, to receive all my thanks…all my praise…and all my adoration. Glory be to Your great Name forever, my Lord and my God. Amen!

Categories

