Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 21, 2015

April 21, 2015 “Almost Beyond Comprehension”

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,  and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3: 17-19)

 

Good Morning My Dear Friends!

My dad was a man who had a most interesting sense of humor. I recall being on a fishing trip with him once, (which was, I believe, his favorite outdoor activity), and taking out a thermos jug full of hot coffee. He looked at me and said, “Mike, I do believe that the thermos jug is one of the greatest and most mysterious inventions in the world.” When I asked him to explain, he said, “Well, it keeps hot things hot and cold things cold.” I said something to the effect that I was aware of that but didn’t understand what made that so mysterious, to which he replied, “I wonder how it knows the difference?” What an insight! There are just certain things that are almost beyond comprehension! One of the greatest of those incomprehensible things is the scope of love and the power of love.

I recently discovered the writings of an Indian Christian missionary named Sadhu Sundar Singh who shared the story of a most amazing demonstration of sacrificial love in the animal kingdom. Here is what he wrote:

“In a Tibetan village I noticed a crowd of people standing under a burning tree and looking up into the branches. I came near and discovered in the branches a bird which was anxiously flying round a nest full of young ones. The mother bird wanted to save her little ones, but she could not. When the fire reached the nest the people waited breathlessly to see what she would do. No one could climb the tree, no one could help her. Now she could easily have saved her own life by flight, but instead of fleeing she sat down on the nest, covering the little ones carefully with her wings. The fire seized her and burnt her to ashes. She showed her love to her little ones by giving her life for them. If then, this little insignificant creature had such love, how much more must our Heavenly Father love His children, the Creator love His creatures!”

What an amazing story of sacrifice! But in cannot even  begin to compare to the amazing sacrifice made on our behalf by Jesus Christ. How much more, indeed, is the love of God for each of us! Paul’s prayer expressed in the reference that heads today’s post, is that the new followers of Christ in Ephesus “may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,  and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” To be “filled to the measure of all the fullness of God” is to be filled to overflowing by the love of God and with the love of God. To be filled like that requires power…Holy Spirit power, which God is ready to impart to those who desire it, for those “rooted and established in love.” In 1 Corinthians 14:1, Paul writes, “Pursue love.” Make love your aim. Embrace it…desire it…hunger and thirst after it… pray for it…know it…live it. Let’s pray!

O God of Love beyond comprehension; Fill my heart with the knowledge of the depth of your love for me. Fill my heart to overflowing with that love, that I. too, may be a living demonstration of that love to those around me, for this I do earnestly pray in the blessed name of your Son, Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen!

Categories

