Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 16, 2015

April 16, 2015 “The Great Celestial Bellhop”

“Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.” (Matthew 28:18)

“If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.”(John 14:15)

Good Morning Dear Friends. This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

“God, I’m running late. Get me out of this traffic jam and find me a parking space.”

“Lord, I didn’t have time studying for this test because I was on that church outing. Help me to pass it.”  

“Dear God, I really am attracted to this young man. Make him find me attractive as well.”

Do any of these sound like prayer requests (or more accurately, “demands”), that you have ever made of God? There are times in our lives that we want God to intervene in our favor in some miraculous fashion, which is understandable, and even welcomed by God. Circumstances beyond our control, prayers for wisdom and courage, intercessory prayers for other people, and yes, even prayers for special favors from God are not contrary to the Lord’s desire for fellowship and communication with Him. He even invites us , saying “You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” (John 14:14) There is a difference, however, in making a request of God and making a demand of God. In the “prayer” examples I noted above, those making such prayers are instructing God to do something for them, as if God were some great “Celestial Bellhop”, anxiously standing on the ready to respond to every whim of the one praying to Him. The scripture passages make it clear who it is that gives the commands…who it is that has the authority to do so…who it is that hears and answers prayers that come from a heart desirous to serve rather than to be served. God is the one in authority…not you or me.  Dutch Christian Corrie Ten Boom once said,

“Don’t bother to give God instructions; just report for duty.”

At our church, we have taught the children a little song to illustrate this principle. It goes like this:

 I may never march in the infantry, Ride in the cavalry, Shoot the artillery  I may never fly o’er the enemy, But I’m in the Lord’s army! Yes Sir!

We are the foot soldiers. He is the general. We serve at His pleasure, not the other way around. He is a God who is the “giver of every good and perfect gift”, and we’ll lack for nothing. Just remember who’s in charge and all will be well. “Yes, Sir!” Let’s pray!

Sovereign Lord, You require no instructions from me as to how things need to be done. Your commands are meant to be followed, and I obey as a matter of love and trust and duty, for You are my Lord and my God. When I stray, you lovingly correct me and set my feet on a right path, for which I am grateful. Fit me daily to serve in your great “army”, I pray, in Jesus’ Holy Name. Amen

Categories

