Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 8, 2015

April 8, 2015 “God Remedies For A Bad Day”

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5: 6-7)

Good Morning Everyone! “This is the Day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

In welcoming you with this salutation , I do so realizing that for some of you, at least, you really don’t feel like rejoicing. You may have had a bad day yesterday, and the prospects for today don’t seem all that great at the moment either. This may be one of those days when you’d just as soon spend your day at the church of “Saint Mattress By The Springs” rather than going to work or school, or doing much of anything at all. We’ve all had bad days. Here are a few indications that today may not turn out so well:

You know it’s going to be a bad day when:

1. Your birthday cake collapses from the weight of the candles.

2. Your twin brother or sister forgets it’s also your birthday,

3. The 60 minute news team is waiting for you when you arrive home.

4. Your car horn gets stuck as you pull up behind a motorcycle gang.

All of these, and many more situations could contribute to this being a “not so great day” for you. So what do you do? Is hiding under the covers the best answer? I have another suggestion: Take several of these along with a healthy does of prayer:

2 Thessalonians 3:16 – Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all.

Philippians 4:6-7 – do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Psalm 50:15 – and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 – Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

John 16:33 – I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

These are “God remedies” for facing a bad day. The Bible is a great tool to turn a rainy day to sunshine in no time. Strengthen yourself in the Word, and make an attitude adjustment. “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Let’s pray!

Merciful God; On those days of challenge, may I find my joy and my strength in your timeless word that fortifies and encourages me. Teach me to case my anxieties upon you, for you care for me. This is my pray, made in Jesus’ name. Amen!

 

Categories

