Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 15, 2015

March 15, 2015 “The Gathering”

“I’ll tell my good friends, my brothers and sisters, all I know about you; I’ll join them in worship and praise to you.” (Hebrews 2:12)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day to all of you!

I hope that today finds you preparing yourself and your family to gather at the Lord’s House for worship and fellowship. I do understand that for some of you there may be mitigating circumstances that do not afford you opportunity to do so. You may be home bound or ill. You may be traveling and unable to locate a church, though that particular contingency seems unlikely to me. But if circumstances do not interfere, than gathering with like-minded sisters and brothers of the faith is where you should plan to be today. Over the years, I have heard it said by more than a few people, “I believe God can be worshiped anywhere. It isn’t necessary to be in a church to worship.”  While I do agree that God may most certainly be worshiped outside of the traditional church setting, I also know that those who make such observations are usually saying these things more as an excuse for not attending worship than for actually engaging in some alternative form of worship. Thinking about the Lord and the beauty of nature while hiking through the woods on a Sunday morning or lifting up a prayer of thanksgiving after sinking a thirty-foot putt on the fifth green at the country club on the Lord’s day does not equate to true worship. The great Christian reformer Martin Luther once said,

“To gather with God’s people in united adoration of the Father is as necessary to the Christian life as prayer. “

There is great blessing in the gathering of the saints…great fellowship…great power…great intercession…great learning…great encouragement…great worship…great praise. It is the Lord’s desire and much to His honor when we do not neglect the assembly of the saints. I don’t know what your particular plans are for this Lord’s day, but my desire is that it will include gathering with other Christians in worship at His House. So, if you haven’t already done so, go get yourself ready to worship with the people of God. If you’ve already done that, then go tell your good friends, your brothers and sisters, and everyone you know about the Good News of Christ’s love and mercy. Let’s pray!

Holy Lord God; It is a great blessing to gather with other believers in lifting up praise to You on this Lord’s Day. Thank You for Your Church, O Lord. Thank you for brothers and sisters in Christ. Thank you, Heavenly Father, for this wonderful opportunity of worship, in Jesus’ Name I pray. Amen!

Categories

