Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 14, 2015

March 14, 2015 “Because He Said So”

“Again the high priest was questioning Him, and saying to Him, “Are You the Christ, the Son of the Blessed One?” And Jesus said, “I am; and you shall see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven.” (Mark 14: 61-62)

“Jesus said to him, “Because you have seen Me, have you believed? Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.” (John 20:29)

 

 

Good Morning Everyone! Praise God for this glorious new day he has given us!

   “But Daddy, I’m afraid!” “It will be alright son. I’ll catch you. I won’t let you slip.” That was the day I took my first conscious and deliberate leap of faith. We were at the swimming pool, and my father was encouraging me to jump into the pool in which he was standing, waiting to catch me. My senses were telling me “Are you crazy? You can drown in there. Don’t do it!” On the other hand, my daddy was reassuring me, “I won’t let any harm come to you, son. I love you.” In the end, I took the leap of faith, trusting in my daddy’s reassuring voice. He never let me down before, and I trusted him with my life. As I recall, that was the first of many jumps into the safety of his arms that day, and boy, it was fun!

Thomas, one of Jesus’ disciples, faced a similar trust dilemma. In the course of his ministry, Jesus had made his Lordship clear to the Twelve. He was there the night Peter boldly declared, “You are the Christ, the Son of the Living God.”  He heard Jesus’ affirmative response to this bold declaration. He was with Jesus when he stood outside the tomb of Lazarus, calling him forth from the grave. He had witnessed countless other miracles performed during the three years he spent with him. He heard Jesus declare to the religious leaders, “Before Abraham was, I AM!” But after his crucifixion, Thomas fled in fear and horror. He was not present on that Resurrection eve when the Risen Lord appeared to the others. When he was told about it, he simply could not come to believe it. His senses were stronger than his faith. He refused to believe until he could see it for himself. Praise be to God, he was afforded that opportunity. Falling to his knees before Jesus, he worshiped him, declaring “My Lord and my God!” Jesus responded, “Because you have seen Me, have you believed? Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.”  

Throughout his earthly ministry, by testimony and by miracle after miracle, Jesus declared his Lordship, demonstrating with unmistakable clarity,“I and the Father are One.” (John 10:30) Knowing full well that it would cost him his life, Jesus, when questioned by the high priest before the Sanhedrin, “Are you the Christ, the son of the Blessed One?” boldly declared, ““I AM!”

Belief in these claims of Christ is a leap of faith. Just as I took that leap into my father’s arms as a little child when all my senses screamed out at me “Don’t do it! You’ll drown”, it requires a leap of faith, a complete trust in the claims of Christ, to come to know Him as Lord. So why do Christians do it? C.S. Lewis wrote,

“Christians believe that Jesus Christ is the son of God because He said so.”   

I jumped into the safety of my father’s arms that day because I trusted more in his love for me than I did my own senses. I believed he would not let any harm come to me based on his word and the confidence I had in him…because he said so! Have you taken that leap of faith? Trust in the Lord. He loves you and will not let you drown. Come on in…the water’s fine! Let’s pray!

Glorious, gracious Lord; I place my life in your hands. I trust you with all my heart, and desire to follow you all the days of my life, for you are the Son of the Blessed One, my Lord and my God. Praise be to you forever and ever. Amen!

Categories

