Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 13, 2015

March 13, 2015 “Never In Short Supply”

“And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19)

Good Morning Enlistees in the Lord’s Army!

Like many in our nation, I have endeavored to keep abreast of the latest developments in the Middle East and its numerous battle fronts. One troubling report I heard in yesterday’s reporting is that some of the forces battling ISIS are being driven back because they simply don’t have the weaponry or needed ammunition to wage an effective battle. The whole notion of warfare is troubling to me as a Christian, but I do understand that when it becomes necessary to combat evil, whatever battles are being fought demand adequate supplies to succeed. This is particularly true when it is realized that we are actually individually waging war on a daily basis. Oh, we may not personally find ourselves in Iraq or Syria or Iran today, but there are battles of a spiritual nature that we will be facing, the consequences of which will be profound in determining the life we live and the impact our lives will have on those around us. There’s a little song I have taught to my children when they were little that I still teach to those children in the churches I am serving called “The Lord’s Army”. It goes like this:

“O, I may never march in the infantry, ride in the cavalry, shoot the artillery…

I man never fly o’er the enemy, but I’m in the Lord’s army, YES SIR!

The Lord’s army never finds itself without skirmishes or battles to be fought and won. But unlike earthly armies, the Lord’s army never finds itself bereft of supplies. Quite often, when reading Paul’s declaration noted above, “And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus”, it is understood from a materialistic perspective. This is not incorrect, but it is incomplete, for Paul’s declaration clearly states that the Lord will supply “ALL” your needs…be they physical or spiritual. Missionary Hudson Taylor is quoted as having said,

“God’s work done in God’s way will never lack God’s supplies.”

When Paul says that God will supply our needs “according to His riches”, he means that God’s storehouse is never depleted. His resources are immeasurable and completely accessible to the believer through the discipline of daily prayer. Don’t be discouraged. Know that the spiritual ammunition needed to be victorious in the daily battles you will be facing are ever available and that, in the end, victory is ours through Christ. Let’s pray!

Great God; In You there is no lack. There is abundance and grace…power and love…vanquishing and victory. All my trust…all my confidence…all my allegiance is placed in You, my Lord and my God, in whose mighty Name I now do pray. Amen!

Categories

