Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 8, 2015

March 8, 2015 “God’s Lock Box”

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal.” (Matthew 6: 19-20)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day Everyone!

Quite often as I read God’s Word, I am reminded of life events that at the time seemed rather insignificant… and truthfully, most certainly were in the great scheme of things. Yet these little life events, held up to the prism of God’s timeless and eternal written word, reveal their significance along with the veracity of scripture itself. Case in point:

When I was a child, about six or seven years old at the time, (sorry for my lack of specificity…it was a few years ago, after all), I found a half-dollar coin on the ground. Back then, that was big money to a kid, and a real treasure. My avaricious mind soared with the possibilities as to how I would spend this windfall. Visions of candy and soda and gumballs danced around in my head like those sugarplum Christmas dreams of Clement Moore’s classic story.  I didn’t want to lose it, and one of my friends (or it might have been my brother…my memory of the exact details is fuzzy), recommended that I put it inside my shoe. I took this sage advice and did as was suggested, storing up my largess “safely”, I thought, inside my shoe. Now as kids are often prone to do, I would take my shoes off for some unknown reason during the day. I probably wanted to run in the grass or my foot itched from my wool socks. But whatever the reason, you can probably decipher where this tale of woe is headed. Somewhere along the line the treasure was lost, never to return.

As I read these words of Jesus this morning, that little childhood event, known only to me (and now to you as well…consider yourself privileged), served as an illustration of this Biblical truth laid out by Jesus. I am not suggesting in any way that money is an evil thing or that we shouldn’t keep it in a safe place (and I most definitely do NOT recommend your shoe). What I am suggesting is that the accumulation of wealth in this life should not be the main focus of our existence. It can be gone in a moment’s time for a myriad of reasons. Natural disasters, illness, thieves and robbers…any or all of these could gobble up those transient treasures. Ah, but here’s where it really gets good! Jesus recommends that we store up heavenly treasures in God’s lock box! The reason he gives for doing this is, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” If your heart is set on earthly things, it is vulnerable to decay and theft, and total loss. If your heart is set on the things of God, such treasure can never be touched by marauders or ruin. That is the the difference between things transient and things eternal.  There’s even better news. Jesus goes on to say, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33).  Here’s the way Christian author Randy Alcorn put it. He writes,

“You can’t take it with you – but you can send it on ahead.”

Not that I’ll ever need it there, but I have a hunch that my long-lost half dollar will be returned to me by my Lord with a wink and a smile. It has been sent on ahead with those true treasures that can never be lost or stolen…the treasures of the Kingdom which is my promised inheritance, for I have put my trust in Him. Let’s pray!

Merciful Lord; You are my treasure and my heart’s deepest desire. “All the vain things that charm me most, I sacrifice them to His blood.” Thank You, Lord, for the matchless gifts that are mine through Your generous grace. I praise and thank you for each new discovery of your inexhaustible love, and make my prayer in Jesus’ Name. Amen!

 

Categories

