Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | February 28, 2015

February 28, 2015 “The Memory Book of Blessings”

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name.  Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget none of His benefits” (Psalm 103: 1-2)

Image result for memory book

Good Morning Everyone! The Lord has blessed us with a beautiful new day, so let’s rejoice and be glad in it!

Of course, the salutation I just shared is simply a reiteration of a Biblical directive, and that is that we are to forget none of his benefits. In the 103rd Psalm, David does just that, bringing to mind the manifold blessings of God. Here are some of his recollections:

“Who pardons all your iniquities,                                                      
Who heals all your diseases;                                                                                                                               Who redeems your life from the pit,                                                                                                                     Who crowns you with loving-kindness and compassion;                                                                                           Who satisfies your years with good things,                                                                                                              So that your youth is renewed like the eagle.                                                                                                           The Lord performs righteous deeds  and judgments for all who are oppressed.”  

This is not the entire list. For David’s list, I refer you to Psalm 103, only a portion of which I have shared. I have no way of knowing your particular mood today. As you perused this list, you may have asked yourself, “Well what has God done for me lately?” I would ask you the same question, just as I ask it of myself, not in a snide or cynical fashion, but in a contemplative frame of heart and mind, as did David. Famed composer Irving Berlin wrote a song for the Christmas classic, “White Christmas”, offering this poignant suggestion:

If you’re worried and you can’t sleep
Just count your blessings instead of sheep
And you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings.

English pastor Alistaire Begg writes,

“Let us remember the loving-kindness of the Lord and rehearse His deeds of grace. Let us open the volume of recollection, which is so richly illuminated with memories of His mercy, and we will soon be happy.”

Do as these men suggest…open up those volumes of recollection, your personal “memory book of blessings”, replete with rich memories of God’s great mercy, and give thanks for his manifold blessings. Let’s pray!

How blessed I am, Father, because of your grace. You pardon, heal, redeem, satisfy, renew, and love us beyond measure. Your mercy and grace astound me. My heart rejoices in Your loving-kindness, and my lips sing Your praise as I make my prayer in Jesus’ wonderful Name. Amen!

Categories

