Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | February 8, 2015

February 8, 2015 “God’s Waiting Room”

“On signal from that trumpet from heaven, the dead will be up and out of their graves, beyond the reach of death, never to die again. At the same moment and in the same way, we’ll all be changed. In the resurrection scheme of things, this has to happen: everything perishable taken off the shelves and replaced by the imperishable, this mortal replaced by the immortal.”                                                   (1 Corinthians 15: 51-52)

Good morning and Blessed Lord’s Day to You all!

This morning as the church I pastor gathers for worship, we will be remembering those who have experienced the joyous reality of meeting Christ face to face, having “shaken off this mortal coil” and entered into His glorious presence for all eternity. Such is the promise of those who have lived this life in Christ. Most of you know that I currently live in Florida…not a bad place to be, particularly in winter, but I am sure it pales in comparison to the glories of heaven. Florida is often euphemistically referred to as “God’s Waiting Room”, not only because of its pleasant climate, but more likely because many come here to retire and spend their last earthly years.

The truth of the matter is, all of our earthly existence could be rightly considered to be living in “God’s waiting Room”. Eventually, each one of us will be called into the great “examination room” to give account of our lives before our Holy Creator. At such a time, we’d do well to have Christ advocating for us, and that is the promise we have if we live a life in Christ.

I wonder what the last words I’ll utter in this life will be? Here are some “last words” of some famous people that I recently discovered: Puckish to the end, Actor/comedian Donald O’Conner’s last words were

I’d like to thank the Academy for my lifetime achievement award that I will eventually get.” 

Another comedic wit, the legendary Groucho Marx quipped,“This is no way to live!”.

A humble believer, Leonardo da Vinci reportedly said, “I have offended God and mankind because my work did not reach the quality it should have.”

 The great John Newton, writer of “Amazing Grace”, died saying,

“I am still in the land of the dying; I shall be in the land of the living soon.” 

Just before going to bed each night, I kiss my beloved bride and tell her I love her. I say my evening prayers and always close saying, “Jesus is Lord.” When it is my time to depart “God’s Waiting Room and leave” the land of the dying”, I’d like those to be my last words uttered in this world. Then, I’d like to hear that trumpet of which Paul writes, and have this perishable body changed eternally into the imperishable as I enter “the land of the living”, for that truly is the resurrection scheme of things. May it be written of me someday that my last words in this life are the same ones I expect to utter in the next…Jesus is Lord! Let’s pray!

O My Sovereign Lord and God; You have placed eternity in my heart, and my heart is restless until it finds its rest in Thee. Thank you for the sure hope of resurrection I have in Your Beloved Son, Jesus. Truly, Jesus is Lord! Amen!

 

Categories

