Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 29, 2015

January 29, 2015 “A Heart Connection”

“Friends come and friends go,
    but a true friend sticks by you like family.” (Proverbs 18:24)

“The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen. (2 Timothy 4:18)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

I have noticed that I begin many of my postings with a greeting similar or in many cases identical to the one employed this morning. In actuality, the greeting itself is a combination of fact, courtesy, desire, and fantasy. Some of you are, and have been for some time, near and dear friends. Others are acquaintances, and still others…many of you, in fact… people I don’t even know who may have stumbled on to this posting through accident or recommendation. I like to think of you as friends, but I cannot honestly say that you are at this point in time, but that’s okay, because real friendship is not something to be regarded lightly. The writer of Proverbs realized this when he wrote “Friends come and friends go,but a true friend sticks by you like family.” Many of those I called friends while growing up I have neither seen nor heard from in years. Social media has served to rekindle some of those connections, but its very definition of “social media” carries with it the understanding of cordiality rather than true friendship. As the writer of Proverbs noted, “a true friend sticks by you like family”. True friendship is not a social media connection…it is a heart connection. Thomas Fuller, an English writer and orator, wrote these words concerning true friendship: 

“A good friend is my nearest relation.”

I am so grateful to those of you who are truly my “good friends”. You know who you are. But I realize this as well…human relationships, as close as they may become, are affected by the passing of time and distance to a degree, and they, too, may fade.  There is one, however, whose friendship, encouragement, counsel, reliability, availability, support, prayers, and love will never fail, never cease, even in death! His name is Jesus. Of this friend, Paul stated, The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” I shall never know a dearer friend than that. I rest in the knowledge that no scheme of the Enemy, no passing of time, no amount of distance, nothing of this world nor of any other world, will ever have the power to destroy this bond forged by His tender mercies. The old hymn says it so well:

What a friend we have in Jesus,
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!

And so, dear friends and acquaintances, you do indeed have a friend who will never disappoint you. Let’s pray!

   What a privilege I have, my Lord and my Friend, to fellowship with you each day in this time of prayer, and through the sheer joy of being in Your glorious presence. Thank you for those earthly friends that have blessed me so richly. They are my nearest and dearest relations. Thank you for my wonderful family so dear to my heart. Thank you, most of all, for Your friendship, my Savior, and the knowledge that you will bring me safely through this life that I might be with You eternally. I love you. Amen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories

