Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 22, 2015

January 22, 2015 “The Concerto”

“Each person is given something to do that shows who God is: Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits.” (1st Corinthians 12:7)

 

Good Morning Faithful Friends!

Those of you that are familiar with some of the social networking sites now available to those that are computer savvy will know that several of those sites, along with providing opportunity to keep in touch with family and friends, also have a variety of games and activities to keep though so inclined to avail themselves of these “opportunities” occupied. Recently, there have been a number of intriguing ones that invite participants, through a series of questions, to determine the answers to such nonsensical and whimsical queries such as “What Kind of House Are You?” or “What Would Your Old Person’s Name Be?” or “What Word best Describes You?” Upon completion of a short questionnaire, a determination (usually one very positive in nature) is rendered. For example, I recently discovered the conclusion to the three referenced “tests” regarding myself. Were I a house, I’d be a “mansion.” My old person’s name would be “Harold”, and the word that best describes me is “Magnificent.” 

Such information could easily lead to the conclusion that the world is indeed blessed to have me in it! Things would just grind to a screeching halt were I not there to set things right. While I do see my life as being significant and that God indeed has a plan for my life to make a difference in the lives of others, I also know that the world does not revolve around my particular “magnificence,” no matter the conclusion drawn from the ersatz test! In fact, I am fashioned by the hand of my Lord to use the spiritual gifts with which I have been blessed in partnership with others whom God has also blessed with spiritual gifts. That is what the Church, the beautiful bride of Christ, is meant to be. The church is more of a choir than a collection of soloists. The great Dwight L. Moody once said,

“i would rather put a thousand men to work than do the work of a thousand men.”   

As a pastor, I have been tempted more than a few times to just go and do something myself rather than engage the God-given talent of those within the church I am serving. Thankfully, I’ve learned the important lesson that there are those in the church far better equipped than me to undertake particular tasks. As a “choir”, things sound much better and go much more smoothly when each one contributes his or her part in “the concerto”. Next time you are tempted to just “go it alone”, remember Paul’s admonishment to the Christians in Corinth:  “Each person is given something to do that shows who God is: Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits.” Let’s Pray!

Mighty Lord; Continue to remind me of the vast array of spiritual gifts that surround me in the Church. You have equipped each one of Your people and Your beloved bride the Church with everything necessary for edification and effective ministry. Use me for Your divine purposes. You are the potter, and I am the clay. Mold me and make me after Your will, I pray, in Jesus’ Holy Name. Amen!

Categories

