Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 18, 2015

January 18, 2015 “The Angel In The Marble”

 “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:14)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day, Dear Friends!

This morning I read a happy posting from my daughter-in-law Alexis who lives in Dallas. She is in training to run a half-marathon and yesterday she completed a 7.5 mile run, a distance she has not run in over seven years! I am excited for her. When I successfully make it out of bed in the morning and take the dog out for her “morning constitutional”, I consider it a triumph of some magnitude (It’s all in perspective, I suppose). Than being said, I do admire those who engage in a worthy pursuit and press on until the desired goal is reached. This afternoon, I’ll join millions across the nation in watching four remaining teams as they strive in their quest to win professional football’s ultimate prize…the Lombardi Trophy. In order to reach this point in the quest, they prevailed over 28 other teams, but must continue and win two more games to achieve their ultimate goal. They must not quit.

As satisfying as it may be to finally achieve that particular goal, after that game, though they may for a few months be regarded as NFL Champions, they’ll have to do it all over again the following year. There is a race to be run, however whose prize can never be usurped by another at any time…the high call of Christ and the prize of everlasting life through him. The apostle Paul did not waver in this endeavor. He told the Philippian Christians, “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” He had a singular goal in mind in his life’s run and pursued it all his life.

Someone once asked the great artist Michaelangelo what the inspiration was for one of his magnificent sculptures. He answered,

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.”   

God saw the “angel in the marble” of Paul’s life and fueled the desire within him that it be set free. Through Paul’s perseverance and obedience, it was. The truth is, there is such an angel, a messenger of the Almighty, in each one of us. Perseverance and obedience will chisel away the rough edges to reveal the masterpiece God created us to become. Press on toward the goal to win the prize to which God is calling you and set the angel inside free. Let’s pray!

You are the Master Craftsman, O Lord. You are the potter and we are the clay in Your hands. Mold and shape us according to your purposes as we press on to win the prize that awaits us at the conclusion of this great journey. This we pray in Jesus in Jesus’ Name. Amen!

Categories

