Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 17, 2015

January 17, 2015 “A Banquet Of Delight”

“He brings me to the banquet hall, and everyone can see how much he loves me.”                          (Song of Solomon 2:4)

Good Morning Blessed Friends!

One of the “perks” of being a pastor who has served churches all across the country is that I have enjoyed the opportunity to sample some of the great local restaurants of those communities where I have lived. I can tell you where to sample the best chicken wings, the best soul food, the best hamburgers, the best pizza, the best chicken fried steak (are you getting hungry yet?) , and the best regional barbecue…(It is here that I am compelled to add that this particular category is open for debate). I enjoy a great meal as much as anyone, and perhaps a bit more than I should according to my GP, but it’s still a treat for me. But of all the places I’ve been, there’s one place I know of that satisfies “hunger” like no other, and that is to be in the presence of Almighty God in worship. No earthly meal can compare with the “banquet of delight” that is to be found in His divine presence praising him, feasting on his Word, and being in fellowship with those that know and love Him as do I. It truly is, as Solomon describes, a “banquet hall” where everyone can see how much he loves me, and where I can express my love for him as well. Christian missionary and pastor Sam Storms describes worship in a most creative fashion. He writes,

“Worship is a feast in which God is the host, the cook, the waiter, and the meal itself.”  

Some people frequent a restaurant because the food is great. Some go because the ambiance is most inviting. Still others go because of the great service. For others, it’s all about “presentation.” At God’s “banquet of delight”, all the elements are there. And here’s the best news yet…the bill has already been paid in full! You are cordially invited by the host, the Lord God, to come to the banquet He has prepared. Come and worship. Come and dine at the finest destination you could ever imagine. Come to his “Banquet of delight” where the feast never ends. Let’s pray!

God of Astounding Grace; Everyone can see how much You love me. Everyone can taste and see how much You love them. I worship and adore you, my Sovereign. I will lift up Your Most Holy Name day after day, for none can compare with You. Praise be to Your Great Name forever. Amen!

Categories

