Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 14, 2015

January 14, 2015 “Specks and Logs”

“How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye?” (Luke 6:42)

Good Morning Everyone!

Thinking back to the time I was little (and that thought journey is getting a bit longer with each passing day), I have to admire some of the seemingly simpler things my parents had to deal with…bath time, for example. Now I didn’t mind taking a bath. I had my bath toys and let my imagination run wild. I might have been a deep sea diver or a submarine captain. That was fun. What wasn’t fun was shampoo time. My great fear, and what always made me cry in unmitigated fear was the thought of getting soap in my eyes. I’d cover my eyes with a washcloth, all the while screaming “Please don’t get soap in my eyes…please don’t get soap in my eyes.” What a wimpy kid I was! The fact of the matter is, none of us is very pleased about getting soap, or any foreign substance in our eyes at any time. The eyes are sensitive that way.

I believe most of you are familiar with this passage from Luke’s gospel…a passage that primarily speaks to a judgmental attitude and the realization that many of us are quick to find fault in someone else without realizing that the same fault is present in our own lives. I get that part of the analogy. I think there’s more to it than that, though. As much as anything, this is also a directive from Jesus on gentleness. There are few body parts as sensitive as the eye, and it takes a steady, gentle hand to remove a speck or some foreign matter from the eye of someone else. In fact, Jesus makes it clear that we shouldn’t even attempt it if there is something in our own eye that would prevent us from seeing clearly enough to even undertake such a task. He is speaking metaphorically regarding faults, but in doing so, and referring to the eye itself, we are reminded that we are to be gentle, as he is gentle with us, when it comes to rendering assistance of such a delicate nature.  Robert Chapman, who had the nickname “The Apostle of Love”, had an understanding of this principle. He once wrote,

“The figure of the mote (speck) in the eye shows what skill and tenderness he has need of who would be a reprover to his brother. Who would trust so precious a member as the eye to a rough, unskillful hand?”  

Reproving another person is not the wrong thing to do so long as you don’t undertake such a task without first examining your own heart and repenting of any unconfessed sin or transgression, that the Gentle Master may skillfully and gently remove it from our own “eye.” Keeping that ever in mind…let’s pray!

Gentle, Loving Lord; enable me to see and confess my own faults before undertaking the task of reproving someone else. With your gentle hand, restore my own sight,,I pray, in Jesus’ Great Name. Amen!

Categories

