Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 8, 2015

January 8, 2015 “A Church Worth Attending”

 “Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me, and to accomplish his work.” (John 4:34)

Good Morning Fellow Believers!

Recently, someone asked me about the environment of the community that I called home as a child. I grew up in a small community in southeastern Pennsylvania with a population of just around 2500. Interestingly, it is still about that size today, some sixty years later.Back then, there were more than a dozen churches in that small town of varying denominational affiliations, all well attended on a Sunday morning. There were Baptists, Presbyterians, Methodists, Lutherans, Catholics, Episcopalians…just to name a few. I sometimes wondered why there were so many different denominations and groups of Christians who essentially believed the same thing yet chose those different churches to call their church “home.” Most everyone in town was in walking distance from any one of these churches, not because there were so many, but because the town was that small. Nevertheless, that’s what things were like in that community as I grew. Though there are not as many churches there now, people, when asked where they attend church are not at all hesitant to identify their particular religious persuasion, if they happen to adhere to any. So one may ask the question, with so many choices available, which is the “right” church to attend and why? Some say it depends on the pastor. Is he or she a strong communicator of the Word of God? Others appreciate the music, and attend pretty much for that reason. Still others are more attracted by a particular church’s form of governance. Others simply respond, “I like to go where I am fed.” Some attend because they were raised in a particular church and have always gone there. Others go because the services are more traditional in nature, while still others because the worship is more contemporary. The truth is, there are nearly as many reasons that people offer as there are people that attend.

In the end, however, I stand in agreement with pastor Rick Warren, whose best-selling book “The Purpose Driven Life” begins with the statement, “It’s not about you.” Worship, in all its forms, is about God and how we respond to God. Quite simply, it’s about obedience and seeking with all our heart, soul, mind and strength to love him. How do we do that? Jesus said, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” (John 14:15) In other words, you will strive with all your being to do God’s will. Catherine Booth, the “Mother of the Salvation Army”, once said,

“I don’t believe in any religion apart from doing the will of God.”

Catherine Booth was not concerned whether one was a Methodist, a Baptist, a Pentecostal, a Word of Faith, or a Presbyterian., and neither is the Lord, for that matter. Rather, doing God’s will…loving Him heart, soul, mind, and strength is what’s ultimately important. If you have a church home, I’m glad! But if you’re not striving to do God’s will each day, then it’s just “religion.” Serve the Lord with all your being. Strive to do his will each day. That’s a “church” worth attending. Let’s pray!

God of Grace and Glory; I pray that my hungry heart will be satisfied as a partake of the food of obedience, for it alone will sustain me and satisfy me. I humbly pray this in Jesus’ Mighty Name. Amen!

Categories

