Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 4, 2015

January 4, 2014 “Love’s Lightning Strike”

I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from his love. Death can’t, and life can’t. The angels won’t, and all the powers of hell itself cannot keep God’s love away. Our fears for today, our worries about tomorrow, or where we are—high above the sky, or in the deepest ocean—nothing will ever be able to separate us from the love of God demonstrated by our Lord Jesus Christ when he died for us.” (Romans 8: 38-39)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day, Beloved of God!

I can still remember the day vividly, even though I was but a young child. It was our family’s practice as I was growing up to faithfully attend our home church in Marietta, Pennsylvania. My dad was Sunday School superintendent. I remember how excited I was about going to Sunday School. I loved hearing the Bible stories, singing songs, and reading the take-home papers we received while there. The one Sunday I made mention of was the day I first heard the song “Jesus Loves Me.” I am convinced that hearing it for the first time changed my life completely. I still remember thinking, “I don’t know who Jesus is, but he loves me! How can he do that?” I was amazed that someone I didn’t even know cared that deeply about me. What I knew of love at that time was exemplified by my parents and relatives, and I never had any doubts about their love for me. It was all good. So I accepted the amazing reality that there was someone named Jesus who also loved me. There was, after all, even a song about it, and I could sing it (which I loved doing). I wanted to learn more about him, and I did, thanks to my parents, my Sunday School teachers, and those members of the church where my walk with Christ was primarily nurtured.

The astounding reality of God’s love for me is something I have never taken for granted or thought of casually. Someone, (I don’t know who), once said,

“When I tell you, “Jesus loves you”, you will probably smile politely, nod and say “I know,” and turn away.  But, once in awhile, lightning will strike, you will look up in stunned amazement, with tears in your eyes, and whisper, “I know.”

This morning as we gather for worship at the church I am serving in Tampa, Florida, we will gather at the Lord’s Table and partake of the bread and the cup that symbolize the love of God for us in simple, but remarkable fashion. They remind us of a sacrificial love made in our behalf. They are a reminder of the truth that Paul shared with his Christian friends in Rome,”that nothing can ever separate us from his love.” Once in a while, lightning will strike and you will look up in stunned amazement with tears in your eyes and you will whisper, “I know”. Let’s pray!

Loving Lord; It still amazes me to the point of speechless wonder that you love me so deeply that you would willingly bear the unbearable burden of my sin, and not only mine, but of countless millions on the cross of Calvary. May I never become jaded to that matchless gift, and worship you with all my heart forever and ever. Amen!

Categories

