Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | December 3, 2014

December 3, 2014 “Just You and Me”

What is man, that You remember himOr the son of man, that You are concerned about him? You have made him for a little while lower than the angels;You have crowned him with glory and honor, And have appointed him over the works of Your hands;” (Hebrews 2: 6-7)

Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’ (Matthew 25:40)

Good Morning My Dear Friends!

Some years ago, I remember hearing a story of a man who has died and finds himself walking the glorious streets of heaven. It is beautiful beyond his wildest imaginings, full of wonderful sounds, colors, and fragrances, the likes of which he had never experienced on earth. Oddly, though, he seemed to be the only one there. Suddenly, standing before him is Jesus who welcomes him with open arms. The man falls to his knees in worship and praise. Upon standing, Jesus lovingly ask the man if he has any questions he would like to ask of him concerning heaven. The man asks the obvious question, “I don’t see anyone else. Am I the only one here?” Jesus smiles and replies, “Didn’t you know, my child…it was just you and me all the time.”

Now I fully expect that there will be others in heaven upon my arrival there, but I understand the point of this little story. In one regard, it speaks to the question asked by the psalmist and referenced in the passage from Hebrews: “What is man that you are mindful of him, or the son of man that you are concerned for him?” It truly is amazing to come to understand that the God of the universe, infinite in power, glory, and wisdom, should care at all about any earthly creature, yet he crowns him with glory and honor and invites him to spend eternity with Him.

In another regard, this little story also speaks to the passage referenced from Matthew’s gospel when, on Judgment Day, God says both to the redeemed and the condemned, “to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.” In the story, Jesus tells the man “Didn’t you know? It was just you and me all along.” The point is, we are to treat every person we encounter as we would Christ himself…as if it were just the two of us. God lavishes his love upon us as if we were an only child. He knows us intimately and loves us completely. Pastor A.W. Tozer writes,

“An infinite God can give all of Himself to each of His children. He does not distribute Himself that each may have a part, but to each one He gives all of Himself as fully as if there were no others.”

What God shares with us is his all…all his love…all his grace…all his goodness…all his mercy…as if it were just the two of us. That’s divine intimacy. Let’s pray!

Heavenly Father; You have given me Your all. May I return that extraordinary love with singular devotion each precious day you so graciously permit me to live in this world, that I may spend eternity with You in the next. This I pray in Jesus’ Blessed Name, Amen

Categories

