Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 15, 2014

November 15, 2014 “The Divine Editor”

“We justify our actions by appearances; God examines our motives.”       (Proverbs 21:2)

 “But God told Samuel, “Looks aren’t everything. Don’t be impressed with his looks and stature. I’ve already eliminated him. God judges persons differently than humans do. Men and women look at the face; God looks into the heart.”    (1st Samuel 16:7)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

I am sure most of you are familiar with the old idiom, “You can’t judge a book by its cover.” Essentially, this means that you can’t rightly judge what something or someone is like by simply examining the exterior. To understand a person’s character, you have to scrutinize their actions, their words, their deeds, and not simply the way they look or the way they dress. This is not to say that outward appearance is unimportant or to be overlooked completely, but it should not serve as the ultimate determining factor as to someone’s value as a person. Above is a great scriptural example of this advice. The prophet Samuel was sent to the home of Jesse, who had numerous sons, one of which God had predetermined would be the new king of Israel. Jesse presented one after another, all seemingly fine candidates, strong and handsome. One by one, God eliminated them until only David, out tending sheep, was left. Samuel saw only a tender of sheep, while God saw a man after his own heart. He reminded Samuel, “Looks aren’t everything…God judges persons differently than people do. Men and women look at the face; God looks into the heart.”   

Understanding this, each one of us should take a look into our own hearts. Most of us spend considerable time looking into the mirror each day before heading out the door. Is our hair combed? Do I need more make-up? Is my tie on straight? Does this shirt match the pants I am wearing? Do these earrings go with this outfit? God indicates that of greater import is what’s in our heart, for what is in there is much more reflective of who we really are. English pastor Alistair Begg understood this when he said,

“Our witness – good or bad – is the overflow of our lives.”

When our “cup runneth over”, what is it that spills out? Whatever it is gives witness to our true nature and reveals that which is inside this book jacket of ours. Our lives really do tell a story to other people. I hope yours and mine are worth the read, honed to perfection by the skilled “Divine Editor.” Let’s pray!

Examine me, O Lord, and know my heart, my thoughts, my motives, and my deepest desires. I pray that they are in accord with Your desires for my life, and if they are not, that you will edit those pages, correcting those chapters that my living witness will be to Your everlasting glory. This I pray in Jesus’ Holy Name. Amen!

Categories

