Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 14, 2014

November 14, 2014 “I’ll Do It ‘Then’ “

“Then another said, “I’m ready to follow you, Master, but first excuse me while I get things straightened out at home.” Jesus said, “No procrastination. No backward looks. You can’t put God’s kingdom off till tomorrow. Seize the day.” (Luke 9: 61-62)

Good Morning Great Friends!

When I was a child busy at play and my mother and dad would interrupt me with some task they wanted me to undertake, irritated, I would often respond ““I’ll do it then”, meaning “when I am not playing” a.k.a ““Later.” Interestingly, this never served to assuage my parents’ desire that I undertake the desired responsibility immediately and not on my particular time schedule. There were unpleasant consequences that came with my recalcitrance, which was never successful, for they were in charge, not I. They were the authority, and from them I learned obedience not only to them, but to all who were in positions of authority over me…other elders, teachers, enforcers of the law, etc. Speaking of the latter, I wonder how many of us have tried to cajole an officer of the law after being pulled over for some infraction (of which we were clearly guilty) with excuses and reasons that he or she should be lenient with us? That doesn’t usually work, either, but most of us try, don’t we? The long and short of it is that we are people under authority and expected to submit to that authority. This is not only true when it involves some earthly authority, but all the more so with the spiritual authority of our Lord. In Luke’s Gospel, Jesus unequivocally lays out the cost of discipleship. Following him is not an afterthought, or something that needs to wait until other matters are settled. It doesn’t begin when we feel ready for it to begin. It is to be immediate, deliberate, and “all-in.” English evangelist Alan Redpath said’

“Before we can pray, “Lord, Thy Kingdom come,” we must be willing to pray, “My Kingdom go.”

There is only room for one on the throne of our heart. It cannot be occupied by us and by the Lord. It is either one or the other. There is no “I’ll do it then!” when it comes to fol;lowing Christ. As Yoda said to Luke Skywalker in “Star Wars”..“Do or not do…there is no ‘try'”. No procrastination. No backwards looks. Seize the day. Follow Christ. Let’s pray!

Lord, as you call, so I want to follow…not in an hour…not in a week…not in a year…but now. Lead me, O Lord, and show me where you would have me serve. This I pray in Jesus’ glorious Name. Amen!

Categories

